Spongebob strikes again

February 21, 2011 at 7:32 am 10 comments

     As parents of special kids, we celebrate the strangest things. I’ve always thought we appreciate the milestones more than parents of typical kids because our kids work so much harder to reach them. Or perhaps it’s because we don’t know if they’ll ever reach them, and when they do it’s time to break out the champagne.

     Tonight I’m celebrating the success of something so huge I’m surprised I’m taking it so calmly. Really, it’s passed by with hardly a discussion among the adults in the household, but still, it’s amazing, so I must take note.

     C is finally using toothpaste.

     And once again, like another big moment in our house (see here), we owe it all to Spongebob Squarepants, that goofy little creature who has been responsible for two of the biggest milestones reached at Casa C. While walking through the toothpaste aisle a few weeks ago, C happened to notice the Spongebob toothpaste, and he begged with desperation to buy it. I barely let him get to “Pleeeeaaaaasssseeee,” before I tossed it in the cart. I explained to him that because it had fluoride in it, he would have to work his way up to it with the baby toothpaste that’s safe to swallow. I’ve long had a tube of this baby-safe toothpaste sitting on his bathroom counter; we’ve smelled it, even tasted the most miniscule bit of it, but we’ve never progressed any further. I learned years ago that trying to get C to do something scary – especially something that revolves around his severe oral defensiveness – is next to impossible. I’m not totally crazy; I pick my battles. And since his dentist has been completely fine with him not using toothpaste, I’ve let it slide, knowing that at some point, his motivation would kick in for one reason or another.

     Nevermind that I’m unlikely to allow that Spongebob toothpaste ever to pass C’s lips – I’m hoping he’ll outgrow his interest far before he’s ready to use the real stuff. It’s got more unpronounceables in it than a twinkie, and I’m sure it is a ghastly shade of yellow that doesn’t even exist in the natural world. Still, there that toothpaste sits, on the counter, while C hesitantly, but willingly, practices brushing his teeth with the baby toothpaste.

     Thanks again, Spongebob. You rock.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

The well is running dry What’s it going to take?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spectrummy Mummy  |  February 21, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Yay Spongebob. Where would we be without special interests? i embrace them fully for many reasons- particularly motivation.

    Reply
  • 2. mommy~dearest  |  February 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Oh! So happy!!!! My advice is to STOCK UP! My son will only use the Oral B Little Einsteins toothpaste. I have to order it online because it’s not in stores anymore.

    Also? Spongebob made my kid want to shave his head. Yeah, that was fun. Lol.

    Reply
  • 3. therocchronicles  |  February 22, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    woo-hoo! Teeth brushing is a battle over here so I can fully appreciate the fact that he is willing to practice.

    Reply
  • 4. rosie  |  February 22, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    it’s a lovely shade of neon blue (the sponge bob toothpaste! ben there done that!) ben will only use my burt’s bee’s now but sophie…. well little sophie isn’t gonna have it any other way that dora toothpaste (which come in a lovely flourecent pink)

    Reply
  • 5. Becky Carpenter  |  February 23, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Hooray ! ! ! One small step leads to giant leaps.

    Reply
  • 6. Flannery  |  February 24, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Progress is progress, no matter how it comes. That’s why those companies make all those cartoon-y things, so desperate parents can coerce their children into trying new things!!

    Reply
  • 7. Lizbeth  |  February 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Thank God for Sponge Bob! It’s the small things that make a difference, isn’t it? Yeah!

    Reply
  • 8. Patty  |  March 1, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I know you probably don’t want comments on Your most recent post or you wouldn’t have disabled the comments. Still, I read it and I just had to say something. I have had some similar problems with my own son. I have no answers, but you aren’t alone. I know that’s not that comforting, because this issue is intensely painful. I’m so sorry that kids are so mean. I wish there was a way to fix this world.

    Reply
  • 9. Lizbeth  |  March 3, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Clearly Patty and I are on the same page–we will not give up till we’ve given you a cyber hug and are crying with you for all the injustices put upon our kids. It’s just not fair, is it?
    Aww, I wish we all lived in the same neck of the woods so our kids could be playing together–course it would be all computer stuff, lego’s and they would be playing next to each other and not with each other, but I digress.
    I had that bitter reality come down on me as well and it sucks, sucks hard. If only we could wrap our arms around our kids and make it go away…I’m here for you and want you to know that. While I can do little other than say that I hope it helps…hugs again–L

    Reply
  • 10. alienhippy  |  March 31, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Our kids learn so much better when they have their favourite characters on side. With my 2 it has been POKEMON, POKEMON and wait for it MORE POKEMON. I have had POKEMON going on in my home for over 10 years now. It’s a good job I’m Aspie and get where they’re coming from.
    Yay!!! to the tooth paste I bet there was happy dancing going on.
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,048 hits

