Believe

December 22, 2010 at 8:42 am 10 comments

     I spent the last two weeks hoping against hope that C would make it until Christmas break without anyone from his class telling him their own truth about Santa. If we could just get through this year, I thought, it would be wonderful. C is so innocent, so naive; I want him to continue to revel in all the joy and wonder of Christmas as long as he can.

     I’d been preparing myself for the tearful conversation every day before picking him up, and it wasn’t long before I had my chance. But you can imagine my surprise when he scrambled into the car the other day brimming, not with tears, but with incredulousness. “Mom,” he said breathlessly. “Guess what? NONE of the kids in my class believe in Santa Claus. Can you believe that? That is just crazy!!! I’m shocked!! They all told me that when I get older you’ll tell me there is no Santa Claus, and I can’t believe that. I told them ‘no way.'”

     Once again, I misjudged my child, and once again, he surprised me in the most delightful way. So strong is his belief that it wasn’t even challenged by the beliefs of his entire class. So steadfast is his faith that the discussion did not allow even a flicker of doubt to enter his pretty little head. 

     We shared a lively discussion on the way home as C spent the entire 25 minutes of the ride exclaiming his absolute surprise at the attitudes of his classmates. He didn’t even ask me if I believe in Santa, but I offered my input anyway (I believe). Yet in those moments, I had a new vision of my child who so clearly wasn’t being swayed by everyone around him. Suddenly, instead of thinking of C as a follower, I saw him as a leader. Sure, he might be wandering totally off the path all by himself, but his conviction is there and he’s willing to stand up for it. Go C.

     We should all learn a lesson from that.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , .

What’s that you say? Happy sad

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle  |  December 22, 2010 at 9:52 am

    I love this! We always had told our son that Santa wasn’t real because there are so many families at church who don’t “do” Santa at all. Around age 4, he decided that I was lying or maybe just delusional because there was so much proof Santa existed. (This is one of many times when he has completely disbelieved what I tell him.)

    Not the same, but this made me think of it – There was also a time when a classmate had suddenly moved away and they were waiting to tell the class until they talked to me about the best way to tell Michael first. When I asked him about whether this little girl had been at school the last couple of days, he told me that the whole class except the teacher thought she had moved away. He clearly thought the teacher was pretty clueless. It never crossed his mind that she might know something she wasn’t telling them!

    Reply
  • 2. Spectrummy Mummy  |  December 22, 2010 at 10:59 am

    I love this! Darn right he sounds like a leader. Maybe you’ll even get another year of Santa.
    I don’t know where Pudding is on the Santa stuff. We accidentally ruined it when she was 2, and she has been a little cautious of the dude ever since. One thing is for sure- she believes in presents!

    Reply
  • 3. akbutler  |  December 22, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I love it too.
    We don’t celebrate Christmas, but I believe in Santa too!
    A leader indeed! I love the strength of his conviction. That will take him far.

    Reply
  • 4. robinaltman  |  December 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Oh, man, that’s too adorable! It is so cool that he kept his conviction in the face of terrific peer pressure. And at a new school! Go C!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Patty  |  December 23, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    This is the best holiday post ever! I love this story. I see a lot of similarities between C and my son. The other day he discovered some unwrapped presents. I thought this might put some doubts into his head about Santa.

    Instead, he asked me, “Why does Santa shop at stores? He’s supposed to make all the presents in his workshop.”

    Reply
  • 6. Fi  |  December 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Oh….he’s just too precious!

    Reply
  • 7. therocchronicles  |  December 27, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    So adorable. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas (and that Santa was good to you!)

    Reply
  • 8. Shivon  |  December 29, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Absolutely. Get ’em C!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Rachel Cohen-Rottenberg  |  January 1, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Go, C! I am Jewish and don’t celebrate Christmas, but I do celebrate it when children hold onto the magic in their lives. No matter what the culture, it’s crucial that children believe in magic, because it gives them practice for seeing the magic in everyday things when they are adults. It’s so important for children to look beyond the literal and to trust in things unseen. There is a great deal more to life than what meets the eye…and I say that as a very visually inclined autistic! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. acollage  |  January 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Awwww, that’s so cute! We too wondered what would happen and we got yet one more Christmas in with him believing in Santa, at least for the most part. I hate to let go of it, but it’s hard when others’ comments cause problems. Happy new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

