With sincere thanks to

September 28, 2010 at 5:07 am 14 comments

Spongebob Squarepants, a creature I had hoped never made it into our house. C has gone through several fascinations with cartoon characters from Dora to Thomas to Wubzy. Fortunately, he skipped Barney and the Wiggles. I thought C would skip Spongebob too, but he is all the rage at our house right now.

     Actually, I find the little yellow guy fairly funny. There are moments of hilarity in that stupid show that go far beyond kid humor. And the fact that I seem to be able to imitate several of the charaters’ voices spot-on seems to be not only a useless talent I didn’t know I had, but also a source of endless enjoyment for C.

     All silliness aside, I now love that little yellow guy like no other cartoon character that has ever graced our television screen. For you see, Spongebob Squarepants has done what years of feeding therapy could not get C to do. Spongebob singlehandedly convinced C to eat something he’s never really eaten – the dreaded multi-ingredient dish.

     You see, C is a single-ingredient kind of kid. Plain chicken, with nothing on it. Plain rice with nothing in it. Plain hamburger – just the patty – with nothing else. No bun, no lettuce, no tomato, no nothing. We don’t do casseroles at our house. No soups, no salsas, no dips, salads or anything that requires a recipe, because that would have too many ingredients.

          But tonight, after listening to C go on and on about wanting a “Krabby Patty,” I finally decided the heck with it – I’ll risk the wasted food. I confirmed numerous times that he actually wanted a turkey patty ON a bun WITH ketchup on it PLUS avocado AND tomato. All. At. Once.

     And C proceeded to eat the whole thing. Thanks, Spongebob. You’ll always have a place at our table.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

So far, so good. c-isms

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  September 28, 2010 at 6:11 am

    Seriously? Seriously?! That is AWESOME! I hate Sponge Bob a tiny bit less right now. Go C!

    Reply
  • 2. autismisnot  |  September 28, 2010 at 6:58 am

    WOW!!!! Go, Spongebob! AND more so go, C!!!! Who knew that a creepy little square cartoon character could elicit such an amazing response.

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  September 28, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Go Sponge Bob! I’ve always liked the little sponge, but now he’s up there with Bugs.

    Reply
  • 4. Marc  |  September 28, 2010 at 8:09 am

    It’s a bit humbling at times to have soneone else get one’s child to do what we’ve tried for years. Apparently it does take a village, and undersea creatures.

    Reply
  • 5. Cheryl D.  |  September 28, 2010 at 9:20 am

    That is SO fantastic! My daughter with Asperger’s just got into Spongebob also. She’s only six, so she’s kinda young, but I found a couple of episodes that are okay for her to watch. I actually like the cartoon a lot. I think it’s hilarious. But I also think its target audience are teens or adults, preferably stoned. LOL! One show did traumatize my daughter a bit, so we’re just keeping it to the two episodes she likes for now!

    Reply
  • 6. Becky Carpenter  |  September 28, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Now, does Spongebob eat any other dishes that might help you out? I certainly hope so. See, I told you that I thought you were a wonderful and creative mom.

    Reply
  • 7. Julie  |  September 28, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Yippeee!!!!!!!!!! That is the best news !

    Reply
  • 8. Lois  |  September 28, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    WOW!!!!!! That’s awesome!!!!!!! Hope C is enjoying the new school too! ❤

    Reply
  • 9. Kim  |  September 29, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Hooray! What an accomplishment! I hope this opens a whole new door of multi ingredient dishes for C!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Stephanie  |  September 30, 2010 at 6:13 am

    That is great! My son has also gravitated towards the Krabby Patty. For him, it started with a plain ham sandwich (which he’d already tried and liked), but graduated to a plain hamburger. Hot food! It’s great. We still haven’t made it to having things on the hamburger, but I have hope.

    Reply
    • 11. Stephanie  |  September 30, 2010 at 6:13 am

      I still can’t bear to watch the show, though. Ick!

  • 12. Shivon  |  October 19, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    You are one clever mommy!!

    Reply
  • 13. Devon Asdell  |  November 4, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    How awesome & amazing! I may have to look into Spongebob, too, because my daughter is also the anti-multi-ingredient type.

    I did have a similar experience, however — my daughter spontaneously decided to try shrimp after watching Mr. Bean’s Holiday several times. She was not impressed — but at least she wanted to try something new! 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Spongebob strikes again « What We Need  |  February 21, 2011 at 7:37 am

    […] And once again, like another big moment in our house (see here), we owe it all to Spongebob Squarepants, that goofy little creature who has been responsible for […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

