Oy vey

July 6, 2010 at 6:33 am 10 comments

     I am working very hard on managing my stress level lately as my adrenal glands seem to be completely tapped out. I suppose I startle too easily; the phone ringing in the middle of the night wakes me up in a panic state, I’m far too jumpy when someone sneaks up behind me, and I generally experience a flood of adrenaline way too often for my body’s good.

     So tonight I realized I have something new to add to the list of things I’m going to work on with C this summer. I kept the list short and sweet – my summer plan is to work with C on using toothpaste, wiping his own behind (I can see my brother, who insists this should have been done about 8.5 years ago, rolling his eyes), and finding some new foods to pack in school lunches. But now, something else has moved to the top: I need to teach C how calling me to look at something vs. calling me because the house has just exploded should each sound a little different from the other.

     “MOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!” he screamed tonight from the other room. “COME QUICK!!!” The adrenaline flowed as I thought about the blood that was surely all over the floor after the mountain lion that came crashing through the window and attacked C went back outside.

     I jumped out of my chair to head toward him, yelling, “WHAT???”

     “YOU WON’T BELIEVE THIS!” he screamed. “I just heard the ‘h-word’ on Spongebob Squarepants!!!!”

     Oh. Dear. Lord. Please. Grant. Me. Calm.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Not enough cooks in the kitchen Where is the line?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  July 6, 2010 at 10:55 am

    OK. First things first. Sometimes learning to wipe your behind is hard work. We’ve been working on that with Foster for two full years.

    And yes, just thinking about anxiety gives me a HUGE surge of adrenaline – enough to make my teeth chatter – so I totally hear you on the anxiety.

    Take C’s shouting, multiply it by 4, square it to make up for the shouting-over-each-other factor, and, well, suffice it to say I’m picking up what you’re laying down.

    Boy do I miss Xanax.

    Reply
  • 2. kaztronomic  |  July 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I totally hear you on the anxiety right now. I’ve become probably the most jumpy person in the world. Even two p.m. phone calls now have me scrambling for the phone going, “What?! What’s wrong? Is everything okay?”

    I admire the way you are approaching these daily challenges with such remarkable fortitude, finesse, and sanity. You seriously deserve Mommy of the Year for being able to inject humor into situations that are frazzling, to say the least. =)

    Reply
  • 3. kaztronomic  |  July 6, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    By the way — I’m passing a blogger award onto you. I love your blog, and your witty and clever way of sharing your experiences with us. (The details of the award are on my blog. =) )

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Lost and Found  |  July 7, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Hi! I just found your blog and am so glad I did! I have a son , 8 1/2 with high functioning aspergers, anxiety disorder and add/adhd.

    I can so hear you on the methods of calling mommy. LOL My son does the same thing. he’s very intense.

    Interesting to me that one of the things you’re working on with him is wiping his own bottom. I actually am having issues with this too. He simply doesn’t do it..and yet I don’t always know when he went..I’ll just find it in the potty so I know he went. Any suggestions so far? I tell him over and over and over trying to remind him to wipe but he just isn’t getting it. I don’t know what to do.

    Oh, I also really struggle with stress/anxiety! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. T$  |  July 7, 2010 at 7:00 am

    i know he knows how to do it, because when you’re not around he magically figures it out. it’s not about the act of wiping any longer, although it may once have been, it’s about getting him to do what he’s supposed to do. that’s the hard part.

    Reply
  • 6. statia  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Oh yeah. The anxiety. Sheesh. That’s why I started taking meds. It brought me down a few notches.

    Reply
  • 7. robinaltman  |  July 7, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    What a hellish situation. Ho, ho, ho. Having someone scream “Mooooom!” for any possible reason can surely drive a person insane. I’m thinking ear muffs here.

    Howard Stern uses disposable wipies to wipe his butt so that it feels totally clean. (I can’t believe I know that, but I do.) Could C try those? He’s way more mature than Howard Stern.

    Reply
  • 8. Elizabeth Channel  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    My Sue does that every time she goes to the bathroom…but she screams bloody murder like the world is ending and it shakes me to no end. Still, she tried to wipe herself yesterday and it was just.not.worth.it…

    Feelin’ your pain!

    Reply
  • 9. akbutler  |  July 11, 2010 at 11:25 am

    if you figure out how to change the screaming, let me know. the “MOM! MOM! MOMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!! I NEED MORE JUICE!!!””s are making me crazy…

    Reply
  • 10. metalmommy  |  July 12, 2010 at 7:00 am

    OH, so funny. But I’m truly sorry that you’re feeling so stressed right now! Isn’t summer supposed to be about relaxation? Yeah…right…!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

