Innocence gained

February 19, 2010 at 5:44 am 4 comments

     Sometimes I forget just how innocent C is. It’s definitely part of his charm and is one of my favorite things about him. He balks when he hears a swear word on tv, has no desire to see most movies, and is completely oblivious to the boy-girl stuff that is starting to go on already in third grade. I remind myself constantly that in many ways, I have a 5-year-old almost 9-year-old on my hands, and that often makes sense of many things he says and does.

     What saddens me, however, is just how not innocent other children are. While waiting for the morning bell to ring today, I spoke with a girl whose family just moved here. She’s a sweet girl who has been particularly kind to C. I asked her how she liked it here so far, and she said it was way better than her other school because everyone was drinking and chewing tobacco there. I tried (and probably failed) to contain my surprise as I listened to her describe such an adult topic with a comfort level I haven’t even gained as an adult. Made to face mature issues at far too young an age, this girl still seems to have an air of innocence about her, which gives me hope for her future.

     I suppose I’ve lived a sheltered life, and for that I am grateful. Yet it was probably easier to do that where and when I grew up than it is in the here and now. I can only hope that C’s awakening to the not so nice ways of the world comes as slowly as my own.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

Ouch Nag, nag, nag

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tiredmama  |  February 19, 2010 at 6:33 am

    I hope the same thing for my children!

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  February 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Gah! Drinking and chewing tobacco? NO! My kids don’t even know what that is! I mean, they know we drink beer, but they think it smells “GROSS!”

    I prefer the innocence at this point, I really do.

    C would love Rei.

    xo

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    So sad! It really does seem like a rougher world out there than it was when I was growing up. Yet, my kids seem as sheltered as I ever was. I guess that’s good. Or maybe they’re idiots. I’m torn, here.

    Reply
  • 4. 5kidswdisabilities  |  February 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    We would all love to keep our children innocent forever. The best we can do is raise them with the values to make the right choices…they all have to grow up sooner or later!
    Lindsey Petersen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

