Eating my words

January 25, 2010 at 6:28 am 9 comments

     Oh, how our children love to surprise us and remind us that the minute we think one thing, something else comes along. How many times do I need to learn the lesson not  to assume anything definitive, not  to pigeon-hole my child, not  to count on anything? And oh, how I love it when I get to learn this lesson the nice way, especially with a little tidbit like the one below, from C’s teacher. Even better, it came on the heels of my last blog post, about C’s not having any self-awareness. Color me WRONG!

From an email which I will keep forever…

Hi Darcy,

I just wanted to let you know how proud of C I was today. We had our Class Auction this afternoon, and C had his eye on a Jeff Gordon poster that he wanted to get for his Dad. Unfortunately, another table got called to shop first, and another student bought the poster. When C’s table was called to go back and shop, his first reaction was to start to cry because he was so disappointed, but then he told me, “I just need a moment to get myself in control”. (Without any prompting by me!) So, he went out into the hall, took a few deep breaths and got a drink of water, and came back into the classroom and resumed shopping very calmly. What mature behavior from a third grader!!  Kudos, to C!!

 Mrs. D.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Thanks for sharing World view

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tiredmama  |  January 25, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I’m on the verge of tears myself. Great job, C!

    Reply
  • 2. goodfountain  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:10 am

    That is really great! C is awesome.

    Reply
  • 3. therocchronicles  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:12 am

    These things always get me a little choked up! So wonderful–gotta love that kid!!!!

    Don’t you LOVE it when they prove you WRONG like this!

    Reply
  • 4. robinaltman  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Yay, C! That’s so lovely!

    Reply
  • 5. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    This definitely puts tears in my eyes. How wonderful to hear!

    Reply
  • 6. pixiemama  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Sometimes eating out own words is SO DELICIOUS.

    xo

    Reply
  • 7. Angie  |  January 26, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    HELLO?! He is amazing…maybe he can send Jackson some tips on how to control our emotions:)

    Good job C and good job D for raising such a remarkable gem!

    Reply
  • 8. Erica77777  |  January 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    That is fantastic!! C is showing better self-regulation than I do at times. 🙂 Go C, go!

    Reply
  • 9. blackknightsbrood  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    New here. I’d hold on to that letter too. What a great kid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,378 hits

