Survivor, my style

December 14, 2009 at 6:36 am 4 comments

     When I was in high school, I felt constantly on the outs. If we had been in the game of Survivor, I surely would’ve been voted off the island. Truly, my whole life I’ve never really felt as though I fit in anywhere, which astounds my mother, the goddess of all things social. My different-ness then came not from a diagnosis like C’s, but rather from not being a party girl coupled with wanting to move on to bigger and better things from the what-was-then-but is-not-now cow-town in which I grew up.

     My different-ness now, however, is one in which I revel. I love being Mom to a special needs kid – I feel as though I’m part of a wonderful club of awesome (if slightly zombie-like) parents. Since I have been writing this blog (almost two years now), friends both new and old have come out of the woodwork sharing stories of their own children with challenges and gifts all their own.

     As I look through the faces of friends on Facebook, I think back to those high school days and know that none of us ever thought we would be those catatonic parents trying to help their very special kids gain a foothold in this complicated world. I don’t even remember there being very special kids in high school, although I’m sure they were around. Yet now they seem to be everywhere, touching friends’ lives in profound ways most people can’t even imagine.

     So instead of voting people off the island, I think I’d invite everyone to join me on it. Let’s create a special place where all of our amazing kids can grow and develop at their own pace, run free without aid, and where they always, always, fit in.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

It’s always the Mother’s fault Semantics therapy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goodfountain  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Count me in!

    Reply
  • 2. mama edge  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Me too!

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  December 14, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I’d like to be the Island Nag. Every island needs a good nagger.

    Reply
  • 4. therocchronicles  |  December 14, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I’m there! Does anyone feel like they fit in in high school?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,075 hits

