Celebration

September 30, 2009 at 10:08 am 5 comments

     I know it’s bad to get excited when C gets in trouble at school, but I can’t help it. For years now, he has exhibited such model behavior as to make his preschool teacher jump for joy the one time he got in trouble during his two years with her. To her, it was a sign of typical behavior a child should display, and that was cause for celebration.

     Since then, his schools have used the card turning method, where they have several levels of colors that correspond to the severity of their transgression. In first grade, he got his card turned once, from what I remember. He was pretty upset that first time, crying and sobbing because he got in trouble for being too excited about something. In second grade, I don’t even recall a card turn, although I suspect there was at least one.

     This year, however, C has already had his card turned several times for talking. The first time, he was quite cranky about it because he thought it was completely undeserved and that it was actually someone else talking instead of him. Since that time, however, he’s been caught yakking on more than a few occasions.

     I suppose I should chastise C for this, but I’m finding it hard to do so. All I’ve managed to squeak out when he tells me about it is, “Oh, well, that’s a bummer.” I certainly don’t let C see my happiness about it, and he missed Husband’s fist pump in the air when he heard the news last night. Frankly, I’m so excited he has friends to talk to that as long as he keeps himself out of detention, study desk, or the Principal’s office, I could not care less.

     I am truly sorry, Divine Mrs. D., and I promise that if it gets really bad, we’ll close rank and read him the riot act. But until then, I’m hoping you’ll forgive me my joy.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Friendships anonymous Heroes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  September 30, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Hey – he was punished at school by having to turn his card. No need for you to get in on the punishing act. (Seriously? I’m the bad mom who LAUGHS – behind my hand – when Foster cries because of the delicious contortion of his features. I swear he reverts right back to his baby face when he cries. I just love it. Tangent in your comments. Sorry.)

    Reply
  • 2. therocchronicles  |  September 30, 2009 at 11:20 am

    That is something to celebrate! The Roc tends to have some behavior issues at school so I’m celebrating the other end–him keeping it together. That’s so wonderful that he’s talking to his classmates!

    ps: I’ve got something for you over at my blog!

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  September 30, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    That’s wonderful! I’m happy for C, too! I’m betting his teacher will understand. How can you not be understanding with that cute little munchkin face?

    It’s lucky I’m not a teacher. No kid would get punished in my class. It would be chaos. Dogs and cats living together.

    Reply
  • 4. jlewicky  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:19 am

    I TOTALLY understand! Every typical behavior I see I celebrate! Teacher already moved the kids around this year b/c some of the kids were getting too “chummy”, and Jon was one of them! Didn’t get the total story, but I think they were playing hockey with something across the desks. LOVE IT!!!

    Reply
  • 5. hopeauthority  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    There’s a big fist pump going on in New York for your boy! Glad to hear he’s doing well. Glad to be back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,382 hits

