It’s happened

August 21, 2009 at 5:57 am 6 comments

     I knew it would, but I just didn’t think it would happen so soon. The day has finally come, the day mothers everywhere dread, a rite of passage so depressing it’s hard to even contemplate. Yet when it happened, it happened so quickly I almost missed it, and now I can no longer remember exactly when it occurred. C is so innocent and naive in everything else – why this change? Why now? Why, why, why?

     It’s happened. To C I am no longer “Mommy.” Now it’s just “Mom.” Drat.

Entry filed under: autism.

So far, so good Color blind

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  August 21, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I know. x4. I wanted to be mama FOREVER. Now I am Mom, Mama when I demand it, and Mommy from Finn.

    I hate it. Given all I do for these kids, the least they could do is call me Mama FOREVER for crying out loud.

    xo

    Reply
  • 2. therocchronicles  |  August 22, 2009 at 4:29 am

    I never thought of this! The Roc didn’t start calling for me until he turned 4 so I think I’ll still be “mommy” for awhile longer (at least I hope so!)

    Reply
  • 3. Becky  |  August 23, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    It’s so nice to hear from you again. Tonight is the first chance I’ve had to check your blog in awhile. I’ve missed the connection with you even though I seldom write. I was disappointed when Jess decided to drop her blog for a bit too.

    I did love to go to the Sidewalk Art Festival yesterday. I’m so proud of her because I’ve always been so cautious about things. She thinks about the things she’d like to try – or say – and does. Honestly, some of the other booths had one or two people observing if they were lucky. The dogs pics are magnets and there is a constant group of people in and out. She is very involved politically with her work, as well. It makes me realize that I have a responsibility to be more informed as well. I love to watch the way she interacts with people.

    Don’t worry yet about the “mom- thing”. Both of the kids had a transition time when they would use “Mom”, but would revert back. Bless Jess, you know. . . I would have to worry more about her hollering “Hey, Ma” – and that might be at recess.

    Reply
  • 4. goodmum  |  August 24, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Ouch. That smarts, doesn’t it? My Little Man has experimented with “Mom” and “Dad” a bit, but hasn’t made the switch. I’m guessing being at school more will change that though…

    Reply
  • 5. mommy~dearest  |  August 26, 2009 at 7:19 am

    Ugh! I remember that day….

    Reply
  • 6. Heather Sargent  |  August 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I know your pain mama! I make my kids call me Mamasaun when they are being punks. I tell them they are not to address me as Mom, Mother, Mama or anything else but… Mamasaun. It makes us all laugh, they think I’m crazy anyway. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

