The truth is out

May 7, 2009 at 9:39 am 8 comments

     Hi, my name is Darcy and I…like Jenny McCarthy. It’s true. I admit it. From the time Jenny unknowingly entered my radar screen, when I attended a party at her (then) in-laws’ home and saw the autism ribbon magnet on their fridge, I withheld judgment. I wasn’t completely sold until today, but she’s now won me over. My liking her doesn’t mean I want to get rid of vaccines, nor does it mean I no longer trust my son’s doctor.

     My theory on autism, which I find incredibly reasonable, is that there’s a genetic component which is triggered by some assault on the system. (Note the word “triggered” instead of “caused.” There is a difference.) Be it a virus, an overdose of antibiotics, an auto-immune condition, or a toxic build-up that finally tips the scales – I think there’s something. I think it’s likely different for every kid. I have, since the moment we started treating C’s medical issues instead of his autism, believed there is a medical component that goes with his diagnosis. When C’s body feels better, he functions better and he’s happier.     

     Jenny feels as though vaccines triggered (or perhaps caused, I’m not sure about her semantics) her son’s autism, and I truly believe that happens in some kids. Our experience was different as C fit his diagnosis at birth. There was no regression in our house. Yet I wish I’d asked more questions, slowed down a bit and read more in those first years. I would’ve still vaccinated, but I would’ve done it in a more reasonable way. I would’ve ordered a thimerosal-free flu shot when C had his doctor-ordered flu shots at 6 months and 18 months. Because truth be told, while I don’t think vaccines triggered C’s autism, I don’t think they helped much either.

     As I listened to Jenny talk today on “The Doctors,” which I only caught by accident, I was struck by how reasonable she sounded. I didn’t see a raving lunatic anywhere on that stage (except, perhaps, for the doctor that threw what we call in our household, a “fit”). All I saw was a Mom sharing things such as the GF/CF diet and supplements that helped her child (much of which also helped mine), complete with a cautionary tale about blindly following doctor’s orders without question. I find it difficult to find fault with that.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

The short bus to nowhere In honor of Mother’s Day

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Good Fountain  |  May 7, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I too think it’s possible that some children have something genetic going on that means that vaccines or some other environmental thing triggers the autism.

    The gf/cf diet seems to do wonders for kids who have the gut issues, and the gut issues seem to go hand-in-hand for some kids on the spectrum. I often wonder is that a different sub-type of Autism.

    Jenny? Eh. She’s okay. She’s not reasonable enough for me. But, hey, takes all kinds to make the world go ’round, right?

    I’ve wondered that too – about there being types of Autism, because for C, he changed SO drastically when we helped his body. I had never thought about autism possibly having a medical component until that AHA moment when he started feeling better.

    In terms of Jenny, I was so pleasantly surprised that she WAS so reasonable (at least on yesterday’s show). She really only talked about the GF/CF, supplements, etc. Vaccines came up, but she was very calm and actually let the guy from Generation Rescue do the talking. I don’t know what I expected – I’ve never really had an opinion one way or another, but as I said, I was won over yesterday. And I liked the DAN doc that was on with her – anytime someone says they are treating the physical symptoms, not the autism, I like that.

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  May 7, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    mmm hmmm. She’s not my BFF, but I don’t hate her. She uses the word “cure” and I feel yucky when I hear that word.

    And I think Foster has been affected since birth…

    love.

    YES, I totally agree – don’t like the word “cure” either. I think for C, his trigger was being housed in his toxic, auto-immune problem Mommy. Throw in a little prematurity and near death, plus a few intubations on the side, and seriously, what else could’ve happened???

    Reply
  • 3. Jesch  |  May 7, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Welcome to the fray. 🙂
    Good for you.

    Reply
  • 4. Jesch  |  May 7, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    For the record, I do not like emoticons that do not look like punctuation and that little one above is DRIVING ME NUTS…

    Want me to edit it out for you?

    Reply
  • 5. robinaltman  |  May 7, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I completely agree with your theory on autism, and I really like Jenny McCarthy. I love that she brings more attention to the issue, and when she talks about it, she sounds reasonable to me. I like her a lot better now, then I did when she was doing the sexy ditz thing, that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 6. asdmommy  |  May 11, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Someone named John left this comment, and I wanted to leave it on here, but needed to repost it so I could delete the ridiculous, self-serving, and not in the least bit “comedic” (his word) video clip John dumped in his message.

    FROM JOHN: “I am sorry to hear about your struggle, but the idea of anyone with children “liking” Jenny McCarthy kind of scares me. This is a woman who is indirectly responsible for the deaths for at least a hundred children and thousands of sick ones. A responsible parent should be disgusted by her if not openly speaking out against her.”

    Well, John, we each are entitled to our own opinions, and all I can say is that until you have a child so directly impacted by things like the GF/CF diet, supplements, or other things that take them from very, very ill to very, very healthy (and thus talking and walking and all those good things that come with health), you’ll never understand. Never. These are the things that Jenny is advocating.

    I suspect, however, that you are talking about vaccines, and what I will say is this: There are, without a doubt, certain children who should NOT be vaccinated. There are certain things about their metabolism, their genetic make-up, etc. that make vaccines harmful to them (I’m not just talking about autism here). And we need to figure out a way to find out who those kids are BEFORE they get their shots. Those kids are NOT “acceptable losses.” And in the meantime, we need to clean up vaccines for ALL our kids.

    I take great issue with your calling me an irresponsible parent. How dare you come into “my” house and say that to me. Since you are a “guest” in my house I’ll have to show you the door. And don’t let that door hit you in the bum on the way out.

    Reply
  • 7. Friend  |  May 11, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    You go, girl! I can’t believe “John” would leave a comment like that! What a JERK! Anyone who spends 5 seconds on your blog can tell what a responsible and caring parent you are. Ugh! The nerve of some tasteless, spineless, LOSERS!

    Thank you! ITA!

    Reply
  • 8. Michelle - Nathan's Mom  |  May 19, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Bravo! I too am a fan of Jenny’s. And now I am a big fan of yours, as we share similar views on the “cause” of Autism. I haven’t been able to put it so concisely, so thank-you for that.

    Great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,079 hits

