Harvard or Yale?

April 27, 2009 at 9:23 pm 5 comments

     We are once again on the search for the best possible educational program for C. Third grade feels like a big year for him; in our district, it means moving from the K-2 school to the 3-5 school. The kids are expected to be more independent, parents are less involved, and it’s a big change. Frankly, I’m not sure C is ready for it, on any front.

     As I agonize over the choices we have available, weighing pros and cons and talking to anyone and everyone who might have an opinion, I find myself almost overwhelmed by the ramifications of each particular choice. If C stays in the regular public school will he slip through the cracks next year? If we switch him to the smaller charter school, will his academics suffer? It’s never easy making these choices for C, because “education” means so much more for him than simply the three Rs.

     I made the joke to Husband that I need to remember this isn’t exactly Harvard we’re talking about here – it’s third grade. Elementary school. Basic math and art class, with a little recess and reading thrown in. Yet with one single sentence, Husband reminded me that this is every bit as big as I’m making it out to be. His answer summed up my concern that this is a pivotal year for C by pointing out the obvious. “Every year,” he said, “is a pivotal year for C.”

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

Don’t sweat it The short bus to nowhere

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BQkimmy  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:58 am

    It IS important and it is a good thing that you agonize over it because it shows you care. Good luck on making the right decision!

    Reply
  • 2. Becky  |  April 28, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    I see the things you write, and know that whatever decision you make will be the best for C. None of us can look into the future, but you thoroughly analyze everything, leave nothing to chance and then do everything in your power to make it work. Don’t stress. No one can do more.

    Reply
  • 3. therocchronicles  |  April 28, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I hear ya! I’m waiting to find out some things at a meeting this Friday and the wait is driving me nuts. I don’t know what kind of decisions I’m going to have to make because it’s based off results of testing, but I really feel like I’m holding my son’s future and his success in life in my hands. It’s so incredibly stressful and no one seems to understand that! (other than the other Mommies of special kids!)

    I want Friday to come but I also want to drag my heels in the sand….this stuff is sooo hard!

    Reply
  • 4. Jesch  |  April 29, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Good for Husband.

    Reply
  • 5. mom-nos  |  May 1, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    everything is a big deal with our kids….that’s why we get so overwhelmed.
    good luck with your decision!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,177 hits

