The things we do for our kids

April 14, 2009 at 10:58 am 8 comments

     C has gone through a number of obsessions, each one ending about the time those of us around him are about to pull our hair out if we hear about it one more time. A few of those obsessions have been somewhat fun for the rest of us, such as state capitals and the Presidents. But the best one so far has been “Wheel of Fortune.”

     When we first discovered C was hyperlexic, I figured there would come a time when he would enjoy the letter and word game. That time has come. We watch the show, have the Plug ‘N Play video game, and root for the “characters” on the show that we like. I’m more of a “Jeopardy” girl myself, but I’ve come to discover I’m actually pretty good at “Wheel.”

     So it is with great excitement (mostly on C’s part) that I am going to audition for the show this weekend when they visit our city. Yes, I am joining the masses of humanity that will gather in an attempt to make their way onto what is arguably America’s favorite game show. C has already told just about everyone he knows that I’m going (and even a few people he doesn’t), so I can’t back out now. It’s crazy, I know, but C would never forgive me if I passed up this golden opportunity.     

I’ll let you know when I win the big bucks.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Advocacy, my way Walk ten feet in someone else’s shoes

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  April 14, 2009 at 11:30 am

    So cool! A friend of mine just taped a show of Jeopardy!
    If you get on Wheel, I will feel sooooo connected.

    Reply
  • 2. therocchronicles  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    How fun (and nerve wracking!!!! yikes!) Definitely let us know if you get on!!

    Reply
  • 3. Good Fountain  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    My sister tried out for that show a few years ago! What a riot!!

    Good luck! I haven’t introduced Charlotte to Wheel yet, but one of these days. I used to love to watch it with my Poppop when I was younger.

    Reply
  • 4. hopeauthority  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    You are SO going to get on that show! You just have to! Let us know how it goes!

    Reply
  • 5. mom-nos  |  April 15, 2009 at 9:57 am

    awesome! what a great mom you are!!!

    Reply
  • 6. robinaltman  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    OMG! I am going to cross my fingers and all of my nose hairs. It would be so fun to see you on Wheel of Fortune! And think of C’s excitement! Aaarg! I just peed myself.

    I would so love to get there, but the chances are slim. I’m confident that if I actually get to compete in the test round, I’ll be fine. But they do random drawings out of the auditioners to see who even gets up there…still, keep everything crossed. But no more accidents or I’ll have to send you some depends…

    Reply
  • 7. Holly's Mom  |  April 16, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Thats so cool, It has been on for years! I remember watching it with my grandparents when I was like in 4th grade!

    Reply
  • 8. awalkabout  |  April 23, 2009 at 7:15 am

    That’s so exciting! Maybe the fact you have a child with autism will help get you up there…. playing that card does work some times. And how excited C will be to see his mommy! I’ll light a green candle for you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

