Monday Mumbers (but it’s Wednesday!?!?)

April 8, 2009 at 4:44 am 8 comments

40 – The number of years I am old. Today. Yee-haw.

400 – The number of years old I feel. Today. Most days.

10 – The number of times C has said to me, in the last week, “Mommy, I’m just going to say you’re 40. You’re almost 40, so I’m just going to say you’re 40.” Seriously, who is this kid talking to about my age that we even need to have this conversation???

14 – The number of supplements I give C, on a rotational basis, carefully calendared so we get the most in him that we can, given that he can tell when we put ANYTHING into ANY food or drink – and then won’t eat or drink it.

2 – The number of days it took for C to go from speaking in rote, echolalic language to back and forth conversations with full sentences after we started said supplements.

5 – The number of schools C has been in since preschool. We’re going on two years in the same district without any major disasters. Amazing.

1 – The number of margaritas I’ve had so far this week. That’s a lot for me. It’s a sign of the times.

7 – The number of years C has been on the gluten free, casein free diet.

1 – The number of years I’ve been on the gluten free, casein free diet.

2 – The number of district budget meetings I’m attending this week.

0 – The number of district budget meetings I want to attend this week.

9 – The number of kids in our little town I know that share C’s same diagnosis.

0 – The number of kids in our little town I know that share C’s same diagnosis and are actually anything like him (or each other, for that matter).

50 (at least) – The number of people I know, in real life, who have kids with autism.

15 zillion – The number of times C has told me today that the $5,000 bill he got at school today is, “Real, it’s totally real. Totally. Real. Totally.”

0 – The number of times I’ve responded to that comment with something other than “Hmmm…” I don’t want to be the one to break his heart.

Googol times googol – The number amount that I love my kid (check it out, it’s a real number).

*** Thanks to Goodmum http://goodmum.wordpress.com for the idea.***

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , .

On the eve of 40 Advocacy, my way

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Good Fountain  |  April 8, 2009 at 5:34 am

    Happy Birthday!!! I hope you have a wonderful day filled with lots of hugs and kisses from your two men.

    And many wishes for an awesome year!

    Reply
  • 2. goodmum  |  April 8, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Happy birthday!!! Now go have a few more margaritas!

    Reply
  • 3. Monday Mumbers « Good Enough Mama  |  April 8, 2009 at 5:44 am

    […] What We Need […]

    Reply
  • 4. Ghkcole  |  April 8, 2009 at 6:24 am

    Happy birthday! We are interested in supplements – can u tell me more?

    Am emailing you!

    Reply
  • 5. therocchronicles  |  April 8, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Happy birthday!!!

    I want to know what supplement started him speaking conversationally!! Do tell!

    For C, it was a combo of probiotics and prevacid (script for reflux). There were NO clues that C had reflux, but when he started talking a little bit, he kept saying “Tummy hurt” all the time. So we did a scope and found out he had pretty bad reflux. The thought is that his belly was so unbalanced that he was just in too much pain to “focus” on anything else. The changes were astounding – we didn’t even tell anyone at preschool what we were doing and within several days, all 3 of the therapists and 2 of his teachers asked what the heck was going on.

    I recently had a similar experience with probiotics myself. It really helped my sore stomach.

    In addition to the probiotics, we also do b-12 shots, carnitine (indicated low by bloodwork), selenium (also indicated low), folic acid, sodium bi-carbonate tabs, zinc, coq-10, magnesium taurate, and I think that’s it.

    Reply
  • 6. pixiemama  |  April 8, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Happy birthday, friend.

    I wish that C’s $5000 bill was real. Totally. Real.

    That much money could take the edge off of ANY birthday better than a margarita!

    xo

    Reply
  • 7. mommy~dearest  |  April 8, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Happy birthday! Wishing you many more margaritas!

    Reply
  • 8. robinaltman  |  April 8, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Happy birthday, Dudette! Remember – you’re as young as you feel. Wait! That would make me 87. Scratch that. Just Happy Birthday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

