One of those days

March 31, 2009 at 9:40 pm 10 comments

     Every once in awhile, there are those days where I get a glimpse of how life with a typical child would be. It’s like being on another planet, really, and Husband and I raise our eyebrows at each other repeatedly throughout the evening as if to say, “Who is this child and what has he done with OUR child?” C stays on topic, asks how my day was (!), and says things that seem so darn normal, I hardly know how to respond. It’s always interesting, but I’m sure after awhile I’d be completely bored. While it lasts, however, it’s pretty entertaining.

     Yet C capped off the evening with something so astounding that I feel as though he’s going through a real growth spurt. After C had a bit of a tantrum at bedtime, Husband and I said goodnight to him without the schmoopiness we usually provide. A few minutes later, after C had calmed down and started his evening chat with his stuffed animals, I went back into his room to give him a kiss. “I’m really sorry for how I behaved, Mommy. I was just really mad,” he said.

     I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t appreciate or treasure these moments nearly as much if they happened all the time. As it is, I will remember this unscripted, unprompted, and completely empathetic sentence – most likely forever. In the way that only these very special children can do, C managed to bring me hope, joy, and wonder all with only a few words.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

Let him eat cake C-isms XIV

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robinaltman  |  April 1, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Aww. I know many adults who aren’t emotionally sophisticated enough to do that.

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:58 am

    That, my friend, is the result of your hard work.

    xo

    I hadn’t really thought of it that way, but you are probably right!

    Reply
  • 3. hopeauthority  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    So he brings you hope, joy and wonder all with only a few words? Well, my friend, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

    You happen to do that very thing all the time.

    And I totally LOVE you saying that if he were ‘normal” all the time, you’d probably be BORED! Wow.

    Sheesh, that’s about the nicest thing anyone’s said to me all year. Thank you for the kind words! 🙂 You made my day!

    Reply
  • 4. embracingspirit  |  April 2, 2009 at 6:05 am

    That is a beautiful thing! It does sound like a growth spurt and a huge step in his awareness! YAH for C! Happy Autism Awareness Month…:)

    Definitely a big statement coming from him. Yahoo!

    Reply
  • 5. mom-nos  |  April 2, 2009 at 6:58 am

    awesome! those moments make it all worth it!

    They most certainly do!

    Reply
  • 6. FXSmom  |  April 2, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I love it when those switches come on!!

    It’s so much fun, isn’t it???

    Reply
  • 7. goodmum  |  April 3, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    This is beautiful. And for what it’s worth, I TOTALLY get this. The bit about being amazed and full of wonder at how “ordinary” my kid can be at times. I can just imagine your heart exploding at this comment of C’s, ’cause I’d be the same way! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. mama mara  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Just what I needed to read today.

    Reply
  • 9. Kathie  |  April 4, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    that is the sweetest thing… unprompted words like that are the BEST! I get a very rare, unprompted, I love you from my usually nonverbal child. Those three words carry me thru many rough days.

    Reply
  • 10. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    What a wonderful expression of empathy! I grab onto all the little things I see that give me hope so that I can look for the light… for the day when my little critter is grown and knows how to function in everyday situations without drawing undue attention to herself. One day at a time… one shining light at a time.

    Way to go C!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

