Life and Death

March 13, 2009 at 8:21 am 6 comments

     My silence this week has been due to the painful death of a very dear friend. That’s not really relevant here, but it has caused me to put everything else in life on hold. Except C. He can never be put on hold, which is probably a good thing at the moment. C’s random, out of nowhere questions about heaven this morning, despite being completely unaware of my friend’s death, made me think that friend of mine was somehow engineering some comfort for me.

     What I keep coming back to, however, is how thankful I am to have what I have; even more so, that C has what he has. As I ponder the two small children and ex-wife left behind by this man and the hole left in their lives, I know how lucky C is to have two parents who love him, and each other, completely.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

I love Bug 21! We all scream for ice cream

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  March 13, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I’m so sorry.
    ((hug))

    xo

    Reply
  • 2. therocchronicles  |  March 13, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    (((Big hugs))) from afar. Sorry to hear you lost someone close to you.

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  March 14, 2009 at 10:23 am

    So sorry. Darcy, you must be the only person on earth, including my husband, I’ve ever written *hugs* for. Paleeze don’t tell anyone.

    *major hug*

    Thanks, friend. I think that’s the second hug I’ve gotten from you, so I feel quite honored, really. 😉 It’s been a tough few weeks, but that sun just keeps coming up every morning!

    Reply
  • 4. mom-nos  |  March 16, 2009 at 10:04 am

    You and the family will be in my prayers.

    Reply
  • 5. goodmum  |  March 17, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend. What a terribly difficult time this must be for his friends and family. It’s interesting how our kids can sense things that we think they should be unaware of…

    Reply
  • 6. Maddy  |  March 19, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Yes, those moments when we have time to reflect make me realize how lucky we really are.
    BEst wishes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

