Roller Coasters

February 27, 2009 at 9:25 am 5 comments

     As a parent, and as a parent of a child with special needs, I am constantly amazed at the dramatic highs and lows I experience. Fortunately they seem to mostly come together, and the end result seems to be one of some balance of sorrow and joy. I suppose that’s how it is for all parents, but I’ve always thought there was an entirely larger range of the ups and downs for those of us lucky enough to parent these very special kids.

     So this week, arguably one of the toughest I’ve had as a parent, and one full of heartbreak, anger, stress, and concern over C’s immediate future, I’m thankful it was tempered by the big reminder (stay tuned next week for details) that I have the most amazing child. His heart, bigger than he is, teaches me more about life than life itself has taught me thus far.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

The truth Proud Mama

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  February 27, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I’m sorry it’s been such a tough week, friend.

    This life – makes us all a little manic depressive. High highs, low lows. Too much.

    Be well…
    xo

    You are exactly right – I never thought of it that way, but it’s really true. Goodness, I think I need to start yoga again! SERENITY NOW! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chrisy  |  February 27, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    In your tough week I want you to know how much your blog has helped me. I got my official diagnosis today. I knew it was coming, still it hurt. The first thing I did was come home to read your blog. It makes me feel not so alone when I read it.

    Thank you so much. You made my day! And although it may feel like it, you are definitely NOT alone.

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  February 27, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    So sorry it’s been a crappy week, Poopsie. Maybe that means next week is going to be really great. I’ll cross my fingers and toes for you.

    Thanks, dear friend. I’m pretty sure your crossing will help…seriously!!! I’m just glad the week is over.

    Reply
  • 4. mom-nos  |  February 28, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Sorry for your week…..you, and all the other mommies out in the blogosphere….are in my prayers.

    Thank you. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. mama mara  |  March 1, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Am hoping your weekend was filled with love, peace, and chocolate. And that whoever caused you pain got an atomic wedgie.

    Thinking of you…

    Thanks, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

