The truth

February 26, 2009 at 11:40 am 8 comments

     I know people who profess to want to hear exactly what other people think about them, good and bad. I have never been one of those people. Although I suspect I’m much more critical of myself than other people are, I still wouldn’t want to hear a single one of those criticisms actually confirmed. Having someone sit down and tell me exactly what they think of me, no holds barred, sounds like torture.

     Yet today I discovered an even worse form of torture. I can’t give the details here of why or how this occurred, but I can say that hearing first hand what other children think of your child is quite possibly the cruelest form of emotional agony I can imagine. Blessedly, C wasn’t there for any of it, and like any good mother anywhere, I will gladly suffer this pain and be thankful that he didn’t have to, and hopeful that he never has to.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , .

Wordless Wednesday Roller Coasters

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Good Fountain  |  February 26, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Oh, hugs. That sounds awful.

    Reply
  • 2. robinaltman  |  February 26, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Oh, no. That sounds awful. I have a friend who used to gleefully tell me what she heard other kids say about Alex. One girl told her Alex picked his nose (in second grade). I’ve always hated that girl since. It was just an observation! If I heard worse stuff than that, I would have needed sedation.

    Hang in there!!

    I’m thinking the sedation idea is a good one. Grrr.

    Reply
  • 3. therocchronicles  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Oh my, that sounds horrible. Agony for sure. I can’t imagine.

    There is no advice I can give. Big hugs from afar though. My stomach clenched for you when I read this.

    EXACTLY! My stomach has been in knots for days. UGH! Thanks for the hugs – I’ve needed them this week!

    Reply
  • 4. Angie  |  February 26, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry….many hugs from me to you.

    Thanks, friend – I still will email you. xoxox

    Reply
  • 5. hopeauthority  |  February 26, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I’m sick for you. And for all of us and our special kids. Their lives are already so hard. Having to navigate through a world full of little jackasses is just the last straw. I can only imagine the pain you felt, but I know I too will feel it one day. It seems inevitable.

    Mean kids suck.

    You know, I didn’t even blame the kids, which didn’t come across in my post (there’s so much about this incident I can’t explain here, so it’s confusing, I suspect) – they were being honest about how C irritates them. It’s the adult in question I’m furious with who did nothing to try to turn their feelings around. Ugh. Adults should know better…

    Reply
  • 6. Holly's Mom  |  February 27, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I am so sorry.. This makes me so sad for you. You are such a good Mommy and C is such a great Kid.

    Thank you. I was pretty sad too – spent lots of time crying, but am now just mad. Not at the kids, but at the adult who “facilitated” (not) the discussion. Urg.

    Reply
  • 7. Jesch  |  February 27, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Grr…

    Reply
  • 8. BQkimmy  |  February 27, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Oh no! I am so sorry this happened. Thankful though your little C did not hear it.

    I don’t think I’ve ever been so thankful about anything in my life…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

