Blog burnout

February 17, 2009 at 12:46 pm 7 comments

     It’s been a little over a year since I started What We Need. I have enjoyed every moment of it, and have been amazed at the fabulous people who have shown up here to hear about a piece of our lives. I feel as though C has his own little cheering section all over the world in the thoughts and hearts of my readers.

     Lately, however, I’ve been feeling a bit burned out. There’s been so much going on, between my working, at one point, three part time jobs; school challenges with what I reluctantly but truthfully call “bullying” (challenges that are being addressed, I’m happy to report); and our eternal search for the right school setting as C grows and new challenges present themselves. Even though I have long felt blogging is therapeutic for me, there are things I just haven’t wanted to say here lately. So instead of censoring myself, I’ve kind of hunkered down until the dust settles.

     Yet here I am, drawn back to this place I’ve come to count on with near desperation. This is my outlet, and I need it. Now that I’m only working one part time job and am feeling somewhat less pulled in 4 zillion directions as certain issues get resolved, I’m hoping to hang around here some more. I only hope my temporary burnout was really just that, and that I do in fact have something left to say.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , .

Bookworm The A-word

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly's Mom  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Hope to hear about all that stuff you have been biting yout tounge over soon. I enjoy reading your updates and didn;t even notice you were burned out.

    Reply
  • 2. Good Fountain  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I hope the burnout was temporary too. but I understand. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I’m so sorry you’re feeling burnt out. You’re an incredible person – taking care of C, writing, holding down 3 jobs. I’m burnt out just writing that sentence!

    I love your blog, and I’m a major C fan. Just write when the spirit moves you. Your bloggy buddies will understand.

    Reply
  • 4. mama mara  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    I struggled for a while with the tongue-biting, and then I decided to stop holding back. It feels great.

    And yes, as Robin said, we bloggy buddies will understand, whatever and whenever you decide to write (or not write).

    Reply
  • 5. goodmum  |  February 18, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I get this. I really do. Like Robin, I’m a real C fan. And a D fan, too. 😉 As for the school issues, I hope to learn from you. We’re going to have to make some more decisions before next fall, too. I have no idea what will be the right place for Little Man. Feel free to talk about it any time. Oh, and feel free to solve our schooling woes too. Ha!

    Reply
  • 6. mommy~dearest  |  February 18, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Feelin the burnout here too- The positive thing is it gives me more incentive to visit and catch up on other people’s blogs! Hope you come out of your burnout, but take your time, fo’ sho. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. therocchronicles  |  February 18, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I always look forward to your posts and I know that you will have more to say. I can understand the burnout though I’ve only been blogging a few months. I just went “unplugged” while on vacation – no cell phone, didn’t check my email, didn’t check any blogs, didn’t update my blog and it felt great!

    We definitely understand and hope you keep blogging!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

