Bookworm

February 11, 2009 at 10:06 pm 6 comments

     If anyone wanted to figure out what’s going on in my life, all they need to do is look at the books piled up on my bedside table. There’s always a stack; I work my way through those, and when desperate for something else, there’s always the numerous half-finished ones actually inside the bedside table.

     One pile is the non-fiction, C related reading. I read those when I’m so frustrated because what I’m doing isn’t working, but calm enough that I can absorb the information. Today I just picked up Kids in the Syndrome Mix, a most useful read that discusses the comorbidity (a terrible word, really) of multiple diagnoses like Asperger’s and OCD. I have a feeling that’s going to be particularly relevant. There’s also a bunch of books on RDI which, every time C has a difficult interaction with another child, I am reminded I must read.

     There’s another non-fiction pile that’s just for me, and naturally that one is the last to be depleted, given that it always seems to be the lowest priority. Simply Pray has been sitting, neglected halfway through, for months. Why Am I Always so Tired? waits patiently to be read again to see if I can find a better answer this time around.

     Lately, though, it’s all about fiction. Spy mysteries, the entire Harry Potter series (I swore I’d never read or enjoy them and now I’m the biggest fan), and the Twilight trilogy that’s actually made up of four books. I can live vicariously through someone else, fulfilling ridiculous fantasies I’ve always had, like being brave enough to be a CIA agent or captivating enough to pull off a name like “Bella.” I’m plowing through the books at bedtime until my eyes close with sleep, clearly needing an escape from life in general. It keeps me sane, and while it doesn’t keep me fully “present,” it at least helps me get through some tough days, which is sometimes the best I can do.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Eternal optimism Blog burnout

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly's Mom  |  February 12, 2009 at 1:46 am

    I loved the Twilight Series and admire your ability to actually go to bed. i was not able to put the book down reading each in a 1-2 day period of time, basically neglecting everyone until I finished one book and not letting myself get the next until I knew I had a chunk of time. That said, I did read two during a vacation with the grandparents, 1 over Thanks Giving and the last over christmas, so I basically gave Daddy and Granny LOTS of Holly time!

    Enjoy

    I was SO the same way once I started those. I just couldn’t stop, and was thankful it was over the holidays! It always feels so guilty and wonderful at the same time to do that…

    Reply
  • 2. Teacher  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I would love to see a blog listing some of those non-fiction books you would reccomend. I always have parents asking me for books they should read, and I don’t have a great list at the ready.

    I will do that, thanks for the good idea! In the meantime, I’ll email you some thoughts.

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  February 14, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Ok, is Edward SO hot or what? Great escapist literature for us tired, frustrated moms!
    I’m having a DVD release party when it comes out…believe me, there are plenty of us 40-somethings who desperately love Twilight:)

    Now wait a minute! I’m not 40 something YET!!! LOL! It’s funny, though, when the movie first started, I thought Edward was not even remotely attractive – figured it was a generational thing. But by the end, I was in love…

    Reply
  • 4. robinaltman  |  February 15, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I loved Harry Potter and Twilight. Want to never sleep again? Try the Abhorsen series by Garth Nix. It’s magically awesome.

    I had to stop reading Stephen King years ago because it freaked me out so much that I couldn’t sleep! And even Harry Potter gave me some bizarre and creepy dreams…but I’m off to the library today, and I’ll look up the ones you mentioned! THANKS!

    Reply
  • 5. Jesch  |  February 16, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Hooray for YA. It’s saved me the last some-odd years. My reading interests lately are more about escaping from this world rather than dwelling in it. Have I got some good reads for you, D.

    Exactly….

    Reply
  • 6. awalkabout  |  March 1, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I’m so jealous! I have a whole stack of books to read too and I just can’t find the time…. you keep taking that time for yourself, good girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

