Eternal optimism

February 9, 2009 at 7:41 pm 2 comments

     I remember being young and thinking I could do anything I wanted to do. I didn’t exactly have high aspirations such as becoming President, but I thought I could accomplish whatever my heart desired. Many years later, I know there’s no way I’m ever going to be a Grammy winning singer, a world class golfer (although Husband, bless him, still thinks I could make my way onto the senior ladies tour if I’d just play a little more, you know, in my spare time…), a Carnegie Hall performing pianist, or a famous actor. It just isn’t going to happen.

     So it warms my heart to see the eternal optimism C has. While he definitely realizes he isn’t the greatest basketball player on the playground, it’s tempered with an outlook of excitement and thrill about what he can do. Right now, it’s working on his penny drive. He is so excited to think how much money we might be able to raise that he can hardly contain himself.

     As I walked down the hall with him this morning at school, listening to him babbling on about which class has the most pennies so far, I had a moment of hope that perhaps some of the dreams I still hold dear can come true. Maybe, just maybe, this slightly weary, somewhat jaded, a little bit cynical person can still shine. I know C thinks I do already.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Wordless Wednesday Bookworm

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goodmum  |  February 9, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    You shine in your motherhood. I’m sure C knows this. 😉 His excitement about the pennies sounds so much like my own Little Man’s plans for his next birthday party. You know, NEXT January. He’s got it all planned out and is as excited as if his birthday were next week.

    Reply
  • 2. T$  |  February 10, 2009 at 5:58 am

    following in daddy’s footsteps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

