Christmas is only about 350 days away

January 4, 2009 at 10:02 pm 5 comments

     Christmas is finally over at our house. If it sounds a bit like I’m complaining, I suppose I am. It’s definitely my favorite holiday; I’m the one starting the Christmas carols earlier and earlier each year (this year it was November 1), eagerly anticipating the visits from far-flung family, and anxiously awaiting the bringing down from the attic the Christmas boxes full of ornaments and wreaths.

     C is overwhelmed with Christmas every year – everything is just too much, and he is rendered incapable of doing anything simply because there is so much to do. The noise, activity and excitement of the season become almost too much to bear. Yes, he knows the true meaning of Christmas, but let’s face it, he’s 7, and he’s all about Santa and presents. This year, circumstances dictated our having three separate Christmas celebrations, which allowed for smaller bits of joy to be spread throughout several weeks. We celebrated first with Husband’s family from Tennessee before Christmas, next on Christmas day (trying to explain why Santa didn’t come on Christmas Eve seemed too daunting a task to attempt), and last with my family from Maine on New Year’s Day. Despite drastically limiting the number of gifts coming from each separate family faction, C was left with an abundance almost disturbing in its…well, sheer abundance.

     While I am always thankful for our blessings (that have nothing to do with money), and while we always give back in many ways, I find myself bothered by the Santa and presents side of Christmas this year more than usual. C certainly did better in terms of his level of being able to just enjoy and not being overwhelmed into a stupor, and for that I am grateful. C also thoroughly enjoys giving, a lesson difficult to teach, but one that he has somehow learned. Yet he seems to have been left this year with the message that Christmas comes along more times than should be allowed for any one child. We can only hope, in the coming year, that the unintended lesson of this year will fade into one of many lovely Christmas memories that I hope he adds to throughout his life.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

War….what is it good for? Taking the C out of C

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pixiemama  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Ah, we are so alike. I love, love, love Christmas, yet I could truly do without the abundance of “stuff.”

    I love it too…I’m sadly taking the decorations down today. 😦

    Reply
  • 2. robinaltman  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I totally agree about all the stuff. It’s tough, because there are friends, family, us….so many people buying toys. And toys for little kids are fun to buy!

    My kids used to get so much stuff for birthdays and holidays that I’d wait to see what remained unopened in the playroom. If it wasn’t opened in a month, I’d grab it, hide it, and wrap it and re-gift it the next year. They had no clue. Bwahahaha!

    It’s true – it is fun to get stuff for kids, and I don’t want to deny anyone that. There’s nothing really I can change. But I do the same thing with re-gifting – especially at his birthday, where kids get him Batman stuff and Transformers (“What are you supposed to DO with this, Mommy????”), and he doesn’t care if we give it away.

    Reply
  • 3. T$  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    hmmm, seems we contributed to this. not sure what to do about it though. too young for consumables. maybe we should venture into gift cards next year. some lessons to be learned there…

    Oh, I’m not blaming anyone, believe me. I think we did a pretty good job at downsizing from both sets of grandparents. But somehow having the three separate ones instead of our usual one or two seemed to make it worse. Or perhaps it’s just that materialism has finally hit! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Good Fountain  |  January 5, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    We had some over abundance too. Then my MIL went and bought gifts at 70% clearance sales AFTER Christmas and brought more over. I’m just glad my hubby and I went ‘light’ – they didn’t need MORE stuff.

    I’m not sure how any kid would handle 3 Christmases in two weeks. It did have its good and bad points. Maybe by the time his birthday rolls around …

    I know – we never used to buy anything because we knew both sets of Grandparents would go nuts! I was pretty excited about this year because I figured he would handle it better, and he did, but there were side effects I didn’t anticipate! LOL!

    Reply
  • 5. jesch  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:33 am

    T$ and I definitely added to the pile, and materialism definitely appears to have struck. Wonder if going forward we could contribute to one bigger gift or a give tokens to an ar-ca-dee.

    Oh, no, I think what you did was just fine. I think it was more the 3 Christmases than anything, you know? It was just too much. But it was a weird year, unlikely to be repeated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,177 hits

