Wake up call

December 14, 2008 at 10:19 pm 9 comments

     For whatever reason, I am usually the one getting up with C in the middle of the night if he needs something. “How did you sleep last night?” Husband will say, usually followed by my tired litany of how many times I got up for C, followed by my by then awake enough to be astounded. “You mean you didn’t hear him screaming over the monitor???” I’ll say, incredulously. Truth be told, Husband is great about doing the early morning “I NEED A WIPE!” hollers that we get a few mornings a week (that’s another post altogether). Frankly, I envy Husband’s ability to sleep through a hurricane, tornado, hail storm, ambulance in the front room, coyotes outside our bedroom window, or the sounds of the high school band wafting up to our neighborhood on football nights.

     But every once in awhile, C will specifically call out for Daddy. Husband must be in tune to his own name, because when C called “Daddy!” one  wee hour of the morning this weekend, followed by a more frantic, “DADDDYYYY!!!!!!” he managed to stumble out of bed. I blissfully rolled over, grateful that whatever was going on, it was clearly a Daddy issue. Those usually involve needing bandaids in the middle of the night for an owie, either real or imagined (Daddy is a much better bandaid administer-er, a talent I have acknowledged over and over to C in the hopes that some of those middle of the night owies will fall to Husband instead). Yet apparently there is a new skill C feels Daddy possesses: Bug wrangler.

     “THERE’S A BUG IN MY TOILET, DADDY! GET IT OUT!”

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sad C-isms, Part XI

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. T$  |  December 15, 2008 at 6:08 am

    can’t take a leak with a bug in the toilet

    Yes, apparently this is true. I did not know this. You learn something new every day!

    Reply
  • 2. hopeauthority  |  December 15, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Isn’t it great that hubby wasn’t awake enough to simply yell back: “So flush it!”? Of course, such a response would be grounds for kicking his tired butt off the bed…

    May all your night calls be of the bug wrangler variety…

    HAHAH! He actually did tell C that when he got in there, and when he came back to bed and told me what was going on, I laughed out loud…

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  December 15, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Guys are definitely bug wranglers. Luckily your husband doesn’t take the dead bug smooshed in a kleenex and chase you around the house with it. Around here bug wrangling is a mixed blessing.

    He has only done that once. I don’t think the particular pitch of my screeching was worth the joy of terrorizing me in his mind. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. FXSmom  |  December 15, 2008 at 9:13 am

    i’d wake his butt up…lol. I must say after about the 2nd time I woke up with a kid I usually do wake up dh and tell him its his turn. It’s called coparenting 🙂

    Yes, but we have an unspoken deal. He generally handles the throwing up (I don’t handle that very well), which is worth 10 zillion up in the middle of the nights to me! I’ll gladly take that trade. Truth is, I don’t sleep well anyway, so I don’t mind THAT much being up with C in the middle of the night if he needs it. And even if Husband handles it, it’s not like I sleep through it…I’m still awake anyway. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. therocchronicles  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    So funny! My husband can sleep through everything coming from the monitor but when he is on call for work and his phone goes off he sits straight up!

    Hmmm….what is up with THAT? It is funny what we hear though – I think we tune in to what we need to. I’m PRETTY sure if Husband was in charge of the monitor, he would hear it. But I probably shouldn’t test it just so I can continue to believe that. 😉

    Reply
  • 6. BQkimmy  |  December 15, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    It’s the opposite in my house. My son responds SO much better to his daddy in the middle of the night then he does to me. So I get to sleep and let daddy deal with it. I think his deeper voice just gets through our son’s night terror haze better than mine does. And if the little guy is truly awake he knows daddy is more likely to baby him and perhaps even let him up to play for a little while, whereas I tell him to go back to sleep.

    Yahoo for Daddies who get up with their kids in the middle of the night!!!

    Reply
  • 7. mama mara  |  December 16, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Your hubby is all right in my book. My wusband used to insert wax plugs into his ears and run a white-noise machine to ensure he had a good night’s sleep. You know, because he needed to be alert to perform his real job, while I just stayed at home all day with the boys and ate chocolates.

    Well, I don’t know about you, but I eat bon-bons when I stay home all day. 😉 Yup, Husband is definitely okay with me. I think I’ll keep him.

    Reply
  • 8. goodmum  |  December 16, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Oh boy. Are you absolutely SURE we aren’t parenting the same kid? I think we are. I think he’s this mystical creature who can carry on two lives, in two different countries, in two different houses, with two different families… I’m onto him.

    C sounds awesome, truly. And so much like Little Man.

    In case you’re trying to come up with a way for yourself to be oblivious to the callings in the night, my answer is called “doxepin.” It’s an anti-depressant. I, when I finally GET to sleep, sleep like the dead… Just sayin’…

    It’s weird how alike they are, isn’t it? Why can’t you guys live next door? But they’d probably hate each other or something.

    I might have to look into the doxepin. I am about the worst sleeper ever, it seems. I never recovered from the middle of the night baby feedings, I guess!

    Reply
  • 9. awalkabout  |  December 28, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Men definitely have a different ability to sleep through EVERYTHING. For sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

