I guess 3rd isn’t so bad

November 26, 2008 at 10:11 am 9 comments

     On a random piece of paper that came home from school, C wrote, “I’m thankful for my Geotrax and my teacher and my family.” I don’t know if it was an assignment or just something he thought about and wanted to write down, but on this eve of Thanksgiving, I’m looking at this piece of paper and being thankful C can write, express himself, experience love, enjoy school, be happy, play, and make his Mama cry.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Thankful A little Thanksgiving miracle

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robinaltman  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    That’s so sweet!! Yet, I must ask – what’s a Geotrax? Have a terrific Thanksgiving!

    OHMYGOSH, your boys missed it. It is only the coolest little boy toy on the market these days, and is fun for adults too. Very cool, very simple train with easy to connect track and remote control engines. We’ve had it since C was 2, and he still loves to build it and play with it. He creates these amazing tracks that take up an entire room with all the pieces. When we were dearly desperate to get C to try new foods (compared to the only moderately desperate now), we would give him a GeoTrax piece for trying – I would open it while he was eating the food in the hopes of distracting him enough that he wouldn’t retch. It mostly worked! But that explains why we have several sets of shelves dedicated to GeoTrax parts – they take up a lot of space. Way cheaper than feeding therapy, though, and far more successful.

    So anytime you want to come over and play, let us know. 🙂 And happy Thanksgiving to you too, friend! Thanks for the link!

    Reply
  • 2. robinaltman  |  November 26, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    That sounds cool! I’m going to look for them at Toys R Us.

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  November 26, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Oh, and you’re very welcome for the link. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. goodmum  |  November 26, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Aw… At least you’re ON the list. 😉

    Yup, definitely glad to be remembered!!!

    Reply
  • 5. hopeauthority  |  November 27, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I’m with Kia on that one. Be happy you’re on the list.

    My son had to write one thing he was thankful for on a yellow paper heart. I coached him, prodded, and repeated “my Family” ad nauseum til I was sure it had sunken in…

    Wanna know what that shallow little bugger wrote? “PRESENTS”!

    I am pretty happy to be on the list! I’m thinking if the assignment came just a little closer to Christmas, the material boy would’ve kicked in and the response would’ve been like your son’s! It’s hard to fault that kind of honesty!!!

    Reply
  • 6. therocchronicles  |  November 27, 2008 at 6:19 am

    so cute! that’s a lot to be thankful for (both you and him!)

    It’s true. We do have much to be thankful for. As does he! I love this list – it makes me smile!

    Reply
  • 7. Casdok  |  November 28, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    So touching!
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Thanks, friend. I hope you and your son are doing well. I need to go read up and see what’s happening in his life!

    Reply
  • 8. awalkabout  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Yeeeeeeehah! Thanks be for speech–however oddly it comes out, and sometimes the more odd, the more dear and sweet and funny. 🙂

    It was exactly that – sweet and funny! It’s definitely a piece of paper I’ll hang on to!

    Reply
  • 9. Lois  |  December 3, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    LOL…wasn’t that what we did in computer lab last week? If it’s the one I recall – he did write ‘family’ first…then I showed them how to move their text and he had fun playing with that for a while.

    The one I saw was hand-written on the back of something unrelated. I didn’t see the computer one, and I look at everything that comes home in his folder! I must’ve missed that somehow…I’m glad we made it into first somewhere, though! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

