Ode to a french fry

November 16, 2008 at 9:52 pm 5 comments

     Oh, french fry, dear, beloved french fry. I remember Mommy buying you, not once, but a million times. I remember the drive from the “M” to Ga’s house, and how Mommy and Ga would look at me in the rear-view mirror, waiting for me to take the plunge. I held the bag many times, but never looked inside. Then one day I remember touching one of you, and finally holding one of you in each fist. I then opened my mouth as wide as I could so you wouldn’t touch any part of me as I brought you toward my face once, twice, again and again. It was a few zillion more stops at the M before I could touch you with my tongue. Oh, salty slice of potato, once I started I couldn’t stop. I licked but wouldn’t bite, and by the time we got to Ga’s house, you were wilted in my hands. One day, I decided to take the plunge. I bit you. I ate the whole salty stick. But just one. And then I wouldn’t touch you again for months. Then I did again, by the zillions. I wanted you every day, and now we’re the best of friends.

     Oh, beloved french fry, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Just when I think I can’t take it anymore The mirror has two faces

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly's Mom  |  November 17, 2008 at 2:04 am

    This totally made me laugh!

    Reply
  • 2. robinaltman  |  November 17, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Hilarious! You’re the Robert Blake of French Fries! Could you write an ode to my favorite lipstick? Please?

    Reply
  • 3. hopeauthority  |  November 17, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Oh, my beloved broccoli…
    (cute post!)

    I’m not sure I’ll ever be writing that Ode. But one can hope! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Erica77777  |  November 18, 2008 at 11:41 am

    We are still waiting for this day for our 3.5 year old PDD-NOS, hyperlexic, insanely picky eater son! Thanks for keeping the hope alive. 🙂

    I promise you there is HOPE. Every feeding therapist we’ve ever seen (and we’ve seen some leaders in the field who have seen it all) has said C is the most difficult one they’ve had. We finally gave up on traditional, sensory-based feeding therapy and started with plain old bribery for trying new foods. It was far cheaper, and worked better, I believe. He got a new train part for his Geo-Trax every time he tried a new food for about a year, I’d say. We now have just about every Geo-Trax part known to man, but C also added (or at least tried) many new foods. It’s sooooo hard. Good luck, and if you ever want to chat with someone who has been through that (and still is going through it, save some wonderful moments lately), let me know.

    Reply
  • 5. Gun control « What We Need  |  March 22, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    […] that I have a child who had to be coerced into eating each of those things (see here) and have now found myself grateful that C eats at least two of those things. I continue to hope […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

