C-isms, Part IX

October 22, 2008 at 5:56 pm 8 comments

While preparing to give C a reading placement test, his speech therapist read him the instructions. She was required to say three times, “If you come to a word you don’t know, I’ll tell it to you so you can keep reading.” The first two times she said it, C responded, “That won’t happen.” On the third, he said, “I already told you, that won’t happen!”

(Our caller ID showed a certain Presidential candidate’s campaign called, and I overheard C share the exciting news with a playmate the other day.) “Guess who called today? John McCain!!!!”

(Tearfully) “Mommy, can you never give me shoestring potatoes again??? Because they have transfat in them!!!”

(From class writing) The best movie I ever saw was…The Great Discovery, The Thomas Movie. The rating is GENRAL.

When I was a small child…I could not play golf very well.

My biggest goal in life is…to build bigger train sets.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , .

It’s true love The tide comes in, the tide goes out

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I agree… we all need bigger train sets!!!!!

    I love C-isms!!!!

    Right after we get a bigger house with bigger rooms to house those bigger train sets! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. FXSmom  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    C has great -isms. i’m laughed so hard I had tears at the transfat one!

    You and C both! It was really funny. My healthy boy!

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:02 am

    I liked the “John McCain” called! He’s so adorable! It’s almost painful!

    And he was SO thrilled – his poor little friend had no idea what he was talking about, and the discussion died before it started, really. But I was chuckling in the kitchen listening to him. BTW, C still thinks Barack Obama is going to win.

    Reply
  • 4. Jesch  |  October 23, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I bet it didn’t happen either.
    So proud on the transfat one.
    So proud.

    Yup, I knew you would be. When he started his question in such a tearful voice, I thought the sky was falling! I had to laugh when that’s all it was. So now we are completely (instead of 99%) TF free – lol!

    Reply
  • 5. goodmum  |  October 23, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I LOVE these posts! I think they’re my faves of all of your posts. šŸ™‚

    Mine too. I have everybody “collecting” them now for me – teachers, relatives, etc. It cracks me up!

    Reply
  • 6. Shannon  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Those are great!!!

    Thanks for visiting!

    Reply
  • 7. Molly  |  October 26, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    I just found your blog through casdok and I just had to comment on the trans-fats. It was someones birthday and we had cupcakes, someone accidentally placed one on the desk of a student with autism, who happens to be GFCF. He ran over to me with the cupcake and said “None for me thanks! Cupcake have transfats!” later in the day he also chastised the cheese balls for snack “apples are delicious, and better for your brain”

    hehe. I also LOVE his goal.

    That would totally be something C would say. Whenever they have ice cream at school, he now asks if there’s casein in it. He wouldn’t eat it anyway, but he is so interested in the details of food at this point it just cracks me up.

    I’ve kind of decided I like his goal too! It reminds me what’s important in HIS world.

    Reply
  • 8. Andrea  |  October 31, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I found you through the funny parent post at BlogCatalog.

    Omgosh, he is too cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

