It’s true love

October 21, 2008 at 5:43 am 7 comments

     I never liked the movie Rainman, even before having C. Husband always did, and his uncanny imitation of Raymond saying, “Got to go to K-Mart,” freaked me out long before we had a child who said things just like that. Since having C, I’ve become aware of the controversy of the movie for its stereotypical display of a person with autism. There are days, however, when C is more similar to the character than not (see my post about “Dennis Days” here).

     Perhaps my favorite movie with a neurologically challenged character is Forrest Gump. It took on new meaning when C was born with developmental issues and we wondered what kind of life he would lead. What I loved about Forrest Gump was the lifetime relationship of Forrest and Jenny. Their friendship and special bond was so heartwarming to me even before becoming a parent of a child with challenges. After becoming that parent, I’ve spent many fretful moments hoping there would never come a day, even after Husband and I are gone, that C would feel all alone in the world. 

     As I sorted through the papers from C’s desk recently, I was reminded of little Forrest finding his way through life with his special friend. I found snippets of paper from C’s friend S who visited for a playdate a few weeks ago. A wonderful little girl who seems to listen to everything C says and is interested in it, she left several pictures behind. I found one that said, “I know C loves me.” Another, in C’s writing, said “S” with a heart around it.

     It seems she is Jenny to his Forrest.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

THERE it is! C-isms, Part IX

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesch  |  October 21, 2008 at 7:00 am

    this was a great way to start my day…

    Reply
  • 2. T$  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    brings a tear to my eye

    Wait ’til you see her, too. What a cutie! C has now planned on going to the “Wheel of Fortune Best Friends Week” with her when they are old enough.

    Reply
  • 3. FXSmom  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Awww….that is too sweet 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. robinaltman  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    That is so sweet. There wasn’t a little condom involved, was there?

    HAHAHAH! You are incorrigible, you know that???

    Reply
  • 5. goodmum  |  October 21, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Oh, I can only hope there’s a Jenny in my Little Man’s world, too. I’m so happy for C. I’m so proud of S and I haven’t even met her. She’s obviously a smart girl who knows a sweetheart when she meets one. I hope C can cotinue this friendship. 🙂

    Oh, I hope it lasts too. She is a good girl. And they are good together. I’ve never quite seen him play with anyone his own age quite like that – it’s amazing.

    Reply
  • 6. awalkabout  |  October 21, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    *chuckles* No no there is one scene in “Rainman” that we all as parents have to relate to. It gets funnier every time I see it now that I have these conversations fairly frequently. Here it is on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeITXkW0ITs (It’s not great quality, but you’ll see it coming.)

    But I’m glad C is finding is way without making everyone crazy enough to stop the car. 🙂

    That scene is SO C! The underwear, the address, etc. I haven’t watched the movie in years, so I’d forgotten about that one!

    Reply
  • 7. hopeauthority  |  October 24, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I LOVE that movie. One of my all-time favorites. I, too hope my ‘C’ finds friendship and love in this world, beyond his bond with his sister. I’d say that “life is like a box of chocolates”, but in MY ‘C”s case…with his awful restricted diet…”life is like the box the chocolates came in….”
    Glad your ‘C’ found his Jenny.
    Gotta go now. It’s 4 minutes to Wapner…

    ITA on the box of chocolates. Same thing here. Hope you caught Wapner. Are you a good driver? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,378 hits

