Worse for wear

October 6, 2008 at 5:41 am 3 comments

     Fall has finally hit, which around here means it’s only in the 90s, with temperatures in the 60s at night. All summer we’ve been promising C his first camp-out in the back yard, and last night was the night. Eagerly he helped Daddy set up the tent on our back patio, and bedtime couldn’t come soon enough. I said my goodnights, and wandered back to our room so I could listen.

     Soon there was a tiny face and voice at my window, looking for reassurance. “I’ll call you if I need you, Mommy,” he said. And then he continued on his scorpion hunt with Husband and their black light. No scorpions found, they settled into the tent to read a book. Soon, lights were out and the rain started. It came in fits and bursts with no lightning or thunder in sight (or sound); Husband later described it as being in the rain forest where it pours for three minutes and then stops, with no accompanying electrical storm. This went on for an hour, and I kept waiting for them to give up and come inside.

     A couple of hours after I fell asleep I heard the screen door open and tiny feet padded across the floor into the bathroom. This happened at least 6 more times throughout the night. There were a couple of wakings for itching mosquito bites and cream application, and a few coughs scattered throughout. All in all, I’d estimate we each got approximately 5.3 hours of sleep, far less than C’s usual 11-12. So I expected a long day today, and I wasn’t disappointed.

     So here I sit, at 8:48 p.m., ready to fall asleep on my feet. C has been asleep since 7, and I’m pretty sure Husband is snoring on the couch. C loved the experience completely, and begged to do it again every night. I think next time, however, I’ll send them somewhere other than the back yard so at least one of us can get some sleep.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , .

Technically it’s still Wednesday here… I’m puzzled

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robinaltman  |  October 6, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I can just picture that one! It reminds me of “sleepovers” when the boys were little, where they’d beg and beg to go, and then call me all night long. Once I left the phone off the hook so I could sleep and Kevin was furious. He said that if I did that one more time he’d never go on a sleepover again!

    That is too funny. And your description is spot on. C keeps begging for a sleepover, and I keep deferring, knowing that’s what it would be like. Good Lord, do I ever appreciate my own parents more each day.

    Reply
  • 2. mama mara  |  October 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I love camping, but NOT in a scorpion zone. Eek. Hope you all catch up on the sleep.

    ITA. We knew there weren’t likely any scorpions around on that particular night (rainy, cool) – they were just hunting for fun (weird). With a black light, they glow, apparently. Yeech!

    Reply
  • 3. awalkabout  |  October 7, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Very good idea. Definitely need to put that tent in another county!!! We have never done sleepovers. For just that reason. My little granddaughters were enough of a lesson. Thanks but no thanks!

    Ooohhh, another country sounds good. I’ll have to try that next time! LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

