I’m famous

September 12, 2008 at 6:27 am 6 comments

     C had a rough start yesterday morning, and on those days I try to go in and have lunch with him. Truthfully, I probably get more out of it than he does. I feel like the Pied Piper as the kids follow me around, each clamoring to sit with C and his Mom at lunch. They pepper me with questions about C. “What kind of pajamas does C wear?” “Does he have his own room?” “Does he have brothers and sisters?” I try to get them to direct their questions at C, but he is sometimes so overwhelmed by lunch itself that he is staring off in a daze. Even if he could answer all the questions, they come with such speed I can barely keep up myself. “Mrs. P!” “Mrs. P!” “C’s Mom!” They are tapping me on the shoulder and doing their best to get my undivided attention.

     You’d think these kids had no parents, no one in their lives. They seem starved for adult focus and attention, which I know is not the case. I suppose just the novelty of a new person around for lunch is pretty exciting to them. I can’t even quite figure out why having a parent around is still socially acceptable. When C had days last year where he would bring home a mostly full lunchbox, I threatened to come in and sit with him at lunch so that he would eat. “Cool,” he said. Oops.

     I guess in 2nd grade, parents are still sort of interesting, and I want to do my best to be the cool Mom in the hopes that some of their curiosity and fondness will be turned in C’s direction. For one brief moment, it’s all about C, they all love him, and he is the coolest kid in class.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Days bygone Donkey or Elephant?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robinaltman  |  September 12, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Oh, man, my kids used to love me coming to school. Alex was always clamoring to bring out dogs. Even though he was shy, he once asked me to come and bring his guitar, so he could play in front of the class. I think he was aware of the cool factor rubbing off on him. C is now covered in cool.

    Ah, too bad I have to hang with 7 year olds to actually FEEL cool. What does that say about me, huh? LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  September 12, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Famous and cool – a winning combo for any mom!

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  September 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

    How could we not be cool parents?! Enjoy these days where
    we’re still the hippest chicks in their lives:)

    And we are, certainly, HIP!

    Reply
  • 4. FXSmom  |  September 12, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Boy have I been down that road…I LOVE it!! Like you if I can be the “cool” mom maybe more kids will be accepting of mine. Seems to work even if it is just for a little while.

    We’ll take what we can get, right???

    Reply
  • 5. mama mara  |  September 12, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    In a few years, you won’t be a cool mom.

    You’ll be a MILF.

    Yikes. I’m not sure my certain body parts are, ahem, LARGE enough, to qualify for MILF status! But thanks for the momentary lapse into “I’m a hot Momma” mode! And for the laugh…

    Reply
  • 6. goodmum  |  September 13, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    That is so wonderful! You’re obviously doing something right! And actually, this gives me some hope. One of my biggest concerns with all-day school for Little Man is lunchtime. I’m really afraid that he just won’t eat anything. I had considered bringing him home for lunch or asking if he can eat somewhere on his own (so he isn’t gagging because of what other people are eating), etc. I like what you’ve done though — going to the school to eat with him so that he can stay there for lunch. I might have to copy this next year. 🙂

    I know – lunch was a biggie for us too, which I think I’ve commented about on your blog. At a prior school, they had an aide sit with him, which was wonderful. Otherwise he just wouldn’t eat. Now he’s on his own and doing far better, but there’s always been the option of letting him eat in the special ed room by himself. I think he was motivated enough to be with the other kids that he managed to figure out how to eat with the group. But it’s been awhile since he gagged just by looking at other people’s food (although he absolutely used to do that). Now he just kind of moves his mouth in a way that I can tell he’s fighting it a little bit, but he manages it. You’ll get there, I’m sure of it! There’s hope, I swear!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,317 hits

