My sweet boy

August 29, 2008 at 6:00 am 7 comments

     Being the dutifully involved parent and ever trying to make things better for her child, no matter how indirectly, I am the newly minted secretary of our school district’s PTO. An easy job really, one that makes it look as if I’m doing a lot of work when all I’m really doing is writing minutes from the meeting. Truth be told, I enjoy volunteering when I can. So much has been given to us, so much help offered, so much caring displayed, that I can’t help but want to give some of that back. Plus it doesn’t hurt in the karma department.

     Yet I suspect down the road, my memories of PTO will boil down to one in particular. At this morning’s district meeting for all K-8 parents, I watched my son’s class quietly come through the gymnasium on their way to music class. On their way back, I turned to wave at him as unobtrusively as I could, and he loudly whispered to his teacher, “Can I go give my Mommy a kiss?”

     What possible better Mommy moment could there be?

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

The Intangibles What are you wearing under there?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Isn’t that what it is all about? You just cling to those moments when times get tough, you know?

    Enjoy the long weekend!

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  August 29, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Awwww! What a sweetpea.

    Reply
  • 3. oxoxjmariexoxo  |  August 29, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    That just gave me goosebumps. I can’t wait for my son to say that, let alone SAY anything:) I’m just glad he’s been giving me kisses rather than biting me lately!

    Yes, you have to take progress where you can get it! We waited for a very long time to hear C say anything or even babble, for that matter. It’s a tough wait, I know. And in the meantime, enjoy those kisses!

    Reply
  • 4. robinaltman  |  August 29, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Oh, man. It doesn’t get better than that.

    Reply
  • 5. goodmum  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    OH, that has to be the best thing I’ve read today!!! He’s awesome! You must have been warm and fuzzy all over for hours and hours afterward, no? Love him!

    Reply
  • 6. embracingspirit  |  August 29, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Love that! good for you both!

    Reply
  • 7. FXSmom  |  August 31, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    awwww….that is one of those teary eyed kind of moments

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

