He’s okay, I think

August 17, 2008 at 9:40 pm 7 comments

     I’ve been a single parent for the last couple of weeks, as Husband has enjoyed his 15 years-in-the-waiting trip down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon. I used to love it B.C. (before C) when Husband would go out of town; I’d eat cereal in bed, stay up late reading, and watch chick flicks. Since C’s birth, however, I have enjoyed Husband’s trip less and less. The bed is too big, the house is too quiet, and things just don’t feel right.

     This particular trip, one I ultimately declined to join (see here), has been challenging. C is at a tiring age (when is a restful age?), which leaves us zapped on a good day. Having all these days by myself is an exercise in new zapped heights. The worst, however, is the complete lack of communication available. Other than one phone call from Phantom Ranch (the only place on the canyon floor with a landline) on day 6 (well over a week ago now) of the trip, there is no way to have contact. C hasn’t said much, but the extra hugs and snuggles required throughout the days, especially at bedtime, have said it all.

     You can therefore imagine my despair at hearing the news that there has been a massive flood in one of the side canyons. After some initial panic, and quickly finding something else for C to do, I devoured any internet information I could find. I have it in my head Husband is probably okay. I found an emergency contact number for the park service and talked to a ranger who said he’s not on the list of people who have been evacuated. As lovely and pleasant and calming as she was, I couldn’t help but wonder why the concern about people who are evacuated; it’s the un-evacuated I’m worried about. Having his name on a list of evacuees would be just fine with me, thank you very much.

     I’ve been fielding calls all evening from folks whose spouses are with Husband’s trip and others who know Husband is on a trip. Probably, Husband is sound asleep, in a haze of post paddling exhaustion. Couple that with a bit of the good tequila they took and a beer or two, and he’s likely off in la-la land and will later chuckle at the concern of those of us topside.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The rest of the story All’s well that ends well

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Good Fountain  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Oh, I’m sure I’d be worried too. I am with you that he is okay! Do let us know. And hugs for the new heights of zapped you’re feeling.

    Reply
  • 2. pixiemama  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Oh, man. I’m sorrry to hear about this stress. This not knowing – I know it intimately with Reilly’s health issues – it could drive someone to drink! Hoping you have already received good news.
    k

    Reply
  • 3. goodmum  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Oh, the stress! I’m so sorry that you’re left with a question mark at the end of your phone call. It must be horrible not being able to communicate, even without an evacuation. Ugh.

    Please let us know when you hear from your hubby!

    Reply
  • 4. FXSmom  |  August 18, 2008 at 10:29 am

    I am a spazz so I would be FREAKING OUT!! I hope all is well!!!

    Reply
  • 5. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  August 18, 2008 at 11:23 am

    I feel you!!!! I always panic when hubs is travelling… I’m sure everything will turn out fine, but you’ll be in our thoughts until he is home safe!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Kathie  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    I am sure he is fine,but will be waiting to hear an update. Thinking of you…how stressful!

    K

    Thanks, K. Nice to “see” you!

    Reply
  • 7. robinaltman  |  August 19, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Aargh! That’s totally scary. How dare that ranger give such nebulous information. I’m freaking out and I don’t even know your husband! Please write when he calls.

    I think they must give those people training on how to remain calm. I’m pretty sure she could’ve said – “yes, he’s definitely missing, the flood is huge, many boats are floating empty along the river,” and somehow still sounded remarkably calm, cool and collected. It’s a nice skill, calming to the person on the other end of the phone, but in hindsight seems slightly irritating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,383 hits

