Big Deal

August 12, 2008 at 1:59 am 8 comments

     C had a big moment the other day. No, I must correct that – a HUGE moment. Something came in the mail addressed to him, something I’ll probably save in the little pile I keep of huge moment momentos. It’s something I’d almost given up on ever happening, resigning myself to the fact that this moment might never arrive. Yet it did. With great fanfare.

     For the first time in his life, C has received a special kind of birthday party invitation. Not just any party, but one that takes place at Chuck E. Cheese, his favorite place on the planet. He doesn’t even know there’s pizza there as that’s completely off his radar screen – and he has no interest in eating it. It’s the games, the tokens, the tickets, the prizes, and being there with other kids he knows.

     Why so special? This is the first birthday party invitation he’s ever received simply because the birthday child really wants him there. It had nothing to do with the Moms being friends, or because the whole class was invited, or because the neighbors had to invite him so he doesn’t feel left out. This invitation, in all its glory, came simply from one little boy to another, from one friend to another, just because the friend wanted C at his party.

     That kid is going to get one rocking birthday present.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

What a difference a year makes Did anybody hear that?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. FXSmom  |  August 12, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Right on C. That is so huge!!

    Reply
  • 2. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:10 am

    How exciting!

    K3 has discovered that she can have a plain hamburger patty and applesauce at Chuck e Cheese. I never take the kids… but their Grandparents do!

    I’m sure he will have a blast!

    Yes, it will be a thrill. I’m not sure C would stop to eat even if he could! He is just on a high state of alert when we’re there – total sensory overload, and goes a mile a minute while we’re there. Then emotionally crashes after we leave. Oy, but he loves it.

    Reply
  • 3. Jesch  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Hooray!

    Reply
  • 4. goodmum  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Oh, that’s the sweetest thing! I love it! I’m so happy for you and for C. What an exciting thing to get in the mail. Does C love mail as much as my Little Man?

    On another note: I just wanted to let you know that I’ve tagged you for a meme. Please see my latest post for the deets! If you can’t do it,no worries!Just let me know and I’ll tag someone else. 🙂

    Ah, mail. Every day – it’s, “Did I get anything today?” He loves it. I’m emailing you about the meme right now!

    Reply
  • 5. robinaltman  |  August 12, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    That is so sweet! I can’t even think of a joke. I even feel a little teary. Oh my God! What’s happening to me! I’m going to go slap myself.
    Congratulations, C! I even feel like buying that kid a present!

    I hope your fall into the world of sappy was a quick one. 😉 But hey, to render you jokeless is like rendering Jessie Jackson speechless. Or Shakespeare with writer’s block. Or Michael Phelps sinkable. Goodness! Hee hee….

    Reply
  • 6. frogsmom  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    There is nothing in the world like a friend. Hope C has a great time at the party.

    You are so right. Friends are the best thing in the world. Thanks for visiting!

    Reply
  • 7. kristi  |  August 18, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Awesomely cool!! Hope he has a great time!

    Reply
  • 8. Angie  |  August 18, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    I’m a lttle behind in my daily dose of C but this post brought tears to my eyes. Yay for him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

