Tapped Out

July 29, 2008 at 8:52 pm 4 comments

     I vaguely remember reading parenting books while I was pregnant that had brief discussions about how kids will go through a phase of pushing the boundaries. I’m also pretty sure I remember the books saying the phase would be relatively short-lived, although I now wonder if they were talking about real time or geologic time. I wonder this because ever since C could talk, he has been testing us. Not daily, not hourly, but (on some days) nearly every single moment of the day. 

     At one point I thought I had found the answer, and rushed to the bookstore to buy a book I’d heard about called Raising the Spirited Child. I actually laughed when I read the book, thinking these people had no concept of what a spirited child actually is. The examples in the book are like child’s play compared to C’s spiritedness.

     C doesn’t test at school, for which I am thankful. I tell myself there’s a huge difference between the structure of school, where one is not always allowed to say exactly what’s on one’s mind whenever one so desires. It’s different at home, I think to myself. With this, I manage to keep the thoughts of questionable parenting at bay, despite knowing we are the most consistent parents I know. Truth be told, C isn’t misbehaving; he’s simply constantly testing every single boundary that’s been set, and many more that haven’t even been considered yet. Disturbingly, my memory is taken back to the movie Jurassic Park, in which the dinosaur wrangler says, about the velociraptors, “…They were attacking the fences…never the same place twice…they were testing the fences for weaknesses, systematically. They remember.”

     It’s no wonder Husband and I often wander around like we’ve been slapped silly and don’t know what hit us. We have that glazed over, “deer caught in headlights” look that is so common in parents whose children challenge them in one way or another. We breathe a sigh of relief when sleep finally quiets C’s constantly working mind, and for us, sleep isn’t long after. We’re done, tired, zapped, fried.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Priorities I used to be so smart

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  July 29, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Is there a club or a support group for parents like us??? Dazed and stunned parents anonymous or something? That would be a grand idea!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    I think there would be a club if any of us had the energy to organize it! LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. robinaltman  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I never found testing limits cute. I always thought it was annoying. It brought out the Attila the Hun in me. C’s lucky you’re a nice mommy, and don’t step on him. (By the way, love, love, love the quote from Jurassic Park. I’m “borrowing” it immediately. Want to do stand up with me?)

    I find it fairly irritating myself. While one part of me appreciates the absolute smarts it takes for him to do this in the way he does, the other part of me wants to pull someone’s hair out – and not always my own!! And the Jurassic Park thing just FITS, I SWEAR! It is totally my kid. I didn’t even mean it to be funny because it’s just so TRUE. I guess sometimes truth is better than fiction, huh? 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. goodmum  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Oh. My. God. Yes. There is nothing more sacred than the sound of my Little Man, breathing deeply, NOT TALKING.

    Little Man talks nonstop. I often tell people this; that he wakes up talking, and falls asleep mid-sentence. Every day. Every night. I don’t think many people actually believe me. I bet you do. 😉

    I LOVE your quote from Jurassic Park. So fitting for our kids.

    We waited so dang long for C to talk, and then we had to joke that he was making up for lost time. He used to talk in his sleep all the time too! So yes, I understand. I swear, he often talks just for the sake of talking. I don’t think he even registers the conversation sometimes!

    Jurassic Park is one of my all time favorites (I’m a dino freak!), and that quote has always stuck with me. Husband laughed after reading this post and said, “Yes, we do have a velociraptor for a child!”

    Reply
  • 4. T$  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    you’re all dazed and confused. we can see you coming a mile away. reason number 12,591 not to have kids. except for my nieces and nephews of course. 😉

    I know, parents have that glazed over look, don’t they? And we’re looking forward to sharing that state of mind with you in a couple of weeks. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

