Priorities

July 24, 2008 at 8:13 pm 4 comments

     C has moved on from his fear of death (see here) into the possibilities of how intriguing the idea of heaven is. In order to soothe his fears, I focused on how wonderful heaven will be and acted like an expert on all things afterlife. I waxed on about all the delightful people in heaven, how everything he’s ever loved and ever wanted would be there. Pretty much, heaven has come to represent the ultimate Disneyland complete with all the Presidents, animals, and Thomas engines one little boy could ever want. Okay, perhaps I went a little overboard, but given his pathological fear of death for quite some time, the idea of heaven needed to counterbalance in the realm of wonderful.

     Yet C, in his own little way, let us know he wasn’t quite as worried about the death aspect of heaven anymore. Now his concerns have moved on to the logistics of it all, as evidenced by his asking Husband, “Will there be a bathroom in heaven if I need to go?”

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Reign Tapped Out

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. robinaltman  |  July 25, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Don’t hold back on us! What’s the damn answer? More importantly, will there be periods in heaven?

    I’ll never tell! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. goodmum  |  July 26, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Oh, I hear you! I made the mistake once of telling Little Man that I’m sad sometimes because I miss my mom, who is in heaven. He’s always asking why I don’t just go visit her and when can he go there to meet her, etc…. Death and dying are such tough subjects, it’s no wonder we fluff it up and make it all pretty. It’s easier that way! 😉

    It certainly is. I see no point in making it harder than it seems to be for these little guys. I’m sure we have many discussions in our future on this topic, but for the moment, I’m happy to stick with the happy!

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  July 28, 2008 at 9:50 am

    J is going through this…he is calling me from Iowa at 10 p.m. whispering into the phone that he is so scared of being “stuck” forever in a box. I’m afraid his Catholic education might be creating a worry wart!

    Glad to hear you went overboard. I tried the realistic approach and that only made it worse. I’m now going to say whatever it takes to get his mind off of this:)

    Hugs to you and C!

    Oh no! Poor kid! I can relate to the “box” thing. Fortunately, C hasn’t figured out what a graveyard is (which is weird, given my love and study of graveyards!), because I think that would send him over the edge. I think he thinks the entire body goes to heaven, and for the moment, I’m content to let him think that until he asks otherwise!

    Reply
  • 4. joanne yobak  |  January 27, 2009 at 6:36 am

    i have have afriend with first grader,all of a sudden he refuses to go to school because he is afraid he is going to die.any suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

