Reign

July 23, 2008 at 10:09 am 6 comments

     Adults love C. He manages to charm just about everyone he meets, so when a grown-up comes along that doesn’t seem to be captivated by him, I admit I’m perplexed. It leaves me wondering if I’m just biased in thinking he is, in fact, the coolest kid in the world.

     I remember when C was a baby, I thought he was the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen. “He is such a gorgeous baby, don’t you think?” I asked Husband, my Mom, random strangers in the park. Now, I look back at those newborn pics, and although it pains me to admit it, he was just as much a Winston Churchill lookalike as every other baby in the world.  

     This previous display of bias calls into question my label of “coolest kid in the world” as potentially not being true. I only start thinking about it when an adult in his life doesn’t fall in love with him like everybody else seems to do. It’s probably good for him to experience people who don’t like him, but he gets enough of that from the kids at the park, so I have to wonder if the adult in question is legally sane. Yet there is a moment of wonder. Is it possible he’s not  the coolest kid in the world?

     Nah, not a chance.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , .

Planes, Trains and Automobiles Priorities

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  July 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Mommy’s get to be a bit biased! That’s part of life. I think C is pretty awesome. He certainly has a great outlook!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    Reply
  • 2. Jesch  |  July 23, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    nope, definitely one of the coolest

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  July 23, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I always think adults who don’t like my kids are jerks. Sometimes I don’t like them, but damn if anyone else has the right to feel that way. C is totally charming. Anyone who doesn’t like him is charm impaired.

    Reply
  • 4. goodmum  |  July 23, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Well, how about we make a compromise? What about if we say that C and LM are the TWO coolest kids in the world? ‘Cause I totally was bouncing up and down in my seat saying “Me too, me too!” when I read your observations. LM too seems to captivate so many (most, in fact) adults that it leaves me wondering what the heck is wrong with the ones who don’t think the sun shines alternately out of my son’s arse and eyes. Mere simpletons. They must be. 😉

    Absolutely simpletons! LOL! It’s amazing to me how much I don’t like someone who doesn’t seem to like C. It’s more than a Momma Bear thing (although there is that going on too!). I really just use him as a barometer of character – if a grown-up doesn’t like him, I figure the person is the type of person I won’t like. Blunt, but true!

    Reply
  • 5. Imapixiemama  |  July 24, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Oh, it’s so simple. Those people who don’t think he’s the coolest kid in the world? They don’t need to be a part of your world. I know – sometimes it means minimizing the role and presence of some of your child’s close family members and some of your former friends … but it’s worth it. Our kids need to be surrounded by people who love them unconditionally. I haven’t even met C and I can pretty much tell how very cool he is.

    Yup, it’s true. Get rid of those folks! Working on it at this very moment! LOL! That’s part of why we moved to be closer to family again – we figured if two of his best friends are his grandparents, that’s okay. We’ll take friends in whatever form they happen to come to him!

    Reply
  • 6. LoisR  |  July 27, 2008 at 11:29 am

    OMG!!! He is by far one of the coolest kids I have ever worked with and come to know…and that’s after 37 (gulp!) years of teaching…he has certainly earned a very special place in my heart.

    And vice-versa. 🙂 And thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,219 hits

