Adventures in theater

July 10, 2008 at 9:41 pm 6 comments

     Today we participated in an ill-fated adventure. One that lasted too long and was too loud. We left, C in tears and me being frustrated that the world is so difficult on him. What were we doing, you ask? A Rolling Stones concert? A rocket blast-off? Times Square on New Year’s Eve? Nope. Nothing quite so dramatic. We just went to see a movie.

     C isn’t into movies, although I thought we had found one that might change all that. The only movie he sits through is a feature-length Thomas the Train movie. Mom and I took him to Curious George several years ago, and even though we managed to get him to stay for the whole thing, he was far more interested in reading the credits at the end than watching the movie. Mom and I were completely exhausted from the constant re-directing and re-focusing we did. Silly us, that was back in the days where we thought if we just did typical things with C, he’d be interested in typical things. It wasn’t an effort to make C typical, but rather to show him that some things he might not expect to be interesting actually are. How mistaken we were, how naive; I look back at myself then and laugh much as I do at my high school hair-do pictures.

     Yet Aunt J and Uncle T went to see Wall-E, and since C wants to do most anything they do, he wanted to go see this movie. So off we went. I had high hopes, as he has grown up so much since we saw Curious George, and I thought perhaps he was ready for a movie in a theater. Apparently, however, there is a weight requirement, given his inability to hold the seat bottom down with his weight alone. I settled in for a long 2 hours of holding the seat down for him, so ready was I for him to see a real movie.

     Mistake number one was going early. By the time the previews started, he was pretty much done with the whole experience. When the lights went down and the previews began, he was completely done. I watched him watch, and it was like being in a 3-D movie – his head snapped back every time something blasted onto the screen, and while this probably had something to do with his vision issues, it probably had as much to do with the pure shock of such live, larger than life action.

     He lasted about 10 minutes into Wall-E (which looks like a delightful little movie), before he decided it was time to go. An understanding manager refunded our money, and home we went to some in-house Thomas viewing, where we can control the volume and the light.

     The highlight, however, much to my thrill and excitement (sarcasm intended), was the preview for Beverly Hills Chihuahua. Through covered ears, curled up into a ball so only his nose and eyes were sticking out, C laughed out loud at the preview for it. I see movie number three in our future, and I only hope Uncle T and Aunt J are in town to take him to that one.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

What if? C-isms Part VI

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. T$  |  July 11, 2008 at 5:29 am

    i hope we are too.

    Reply
  • 2. Jesch  |  July 11, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Aw, man. That is such a bummer. Sigh.

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  July 11, 2008 at 8:45 am

    J and I went and loved it. It has such a sweet message that would have resonated with your sweet boy if only…

    Even my rambunctious one leaned over at one point and said in a trembling voice…”is Wall-E gone for good?”

    Husband and I went to see it the next night when we had a sitter…it was cute. Perhaps when it comes out on video. I was glad that bad part at the end was short as I was waiting for the collective cries from kids to start, but fortunately he woke up quickly!

    Reply
  • 4. Bobbi  |  July 11, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Parker is pretty much the same way at movies. The only movie he’s done good for so far is really Cars. Good luck with #3.

    We rented Cars, but it didn’t work either – I thought it might just because of, well, the CARS! Honestly, I’m almost hoping Beverly Hills Chihuahua is PG so I’ll have an excuse NOT to take him – it looked absolutely ridiculous!

    Reply
  • 5. robinaltman  |  July 12, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Rats. I’m disappointed for you and C! Maybe when the video comes out, if the sound is really low….?

    We’ll definitely be buying the movie, and I’m hoping he’ll watch more of it at some point. It was so cute! And he will far prefer being able to control the sound and the light. The whole “movie theater experience” is just not for him, I guess!

    Reply
  • 6. goodmum  |  July 13, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Oh wow! I could have written this post myself, after we attempted to take Little Man to a movie, The Veggie Tales Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything.” Ugh. Same story, basically. Little Man doesn’t sit thru long shows/movies, but all of our friends were doing it (jump off a bridge much?!), so I wanted to give LM the experience, too. Duh! Why do I keep trying to make my child into a “normal” child?

    I can certainly sympathize with you and say that, indeed, I’ve been there, done that. Almost EXACTLY that.

    I am amazed that ANY kids sit in a theater for that long, really. But it is sort of a “DUH” moment when I try and do things with C like that. We’ll probably try again in a few years just to get hit over the head again…lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

