Gospel of Thomas

July 2, 2008 at 7:09 pm 4 comments

     C wants some gold dust. He found out about gold dust from a Thomas movie, which is where all great world truths in C’s life originate. There are specific instructions for making gold dust that include putting gold glitter into a whistle. According to C, we can “get rid of our cars because when we blow the dust through the whistle, we can travel wherever we want to go in just a second.” Gold dust, apparently, is the latest in supersonic travel methods.

     This was told to Husband and me last night, complete with teary eyed passion and belief so strong it’s on the magnitude of Santa Claus and the tooth fairy. What, I wonder, will happen when he discovers it isn’t real? Again, I envision the innocent child heartbreak when a youngster finds out Santa Claus is really only Mom and Dad.

     Yet I hope that C, like a younger version of myself, sees the magic in all things Santa Claus and gold dust even after finding out the hard, cold truth. I still can’t bring myself to say Santa Claus isn’t real; rather we just can’t see him. Sure, I eventually understood that Mom and Dad put the presents under the tree, but I still believed Santa Claus was out there somewhere.

     After all, we all need some gold dust in our lives.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Engaging the Senses Sibling Revelry

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesch  |  July 3, 2008 at 5:49 am

    amen

    Reply
  • 2. Imapixiemama  |  July 3, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Hi…
    Found you when I was clicking through blog links a couple of weeks ago. Thought I should introduce myself rather than continue to lurk. Your stories of C remind me of my son just a couple of years ago. Yes, all truth is rooted in Thomas around here too, though these days with a little less intensity. Gold dust would be brilliant. When you find it, please share.

    Ah, you give me hope. Less intensity around Thomas sounds good. Although I’m glad it’s that and not videos/games with more reality in them. I’m all for innocent! Anyway, thanks for introducing yourself, and I’ll have to go read you too to get a glimpse of where C will be in a few years!

    Reply
  • 3. robinaltman  |  July 3, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    As a child I fervently felt like C. I believed in Peter Pan, Narnia, and all sorts of magic. A small part of me still does. I hope C can keep a little stash of gold dust for the future.

    Ditto – I’m pretty sure that Narnia really is out there somewhere. Because truly, sometimes the thought of magic is what keeps me going!

    Reply
  • 4. LoisR  |  July 4, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    D…since I began working with the younger students (after 30 years of 10 & 11 year olds!) I found Santa alive and thriving in the hearts and beings of my K-2 students…and it brought the spirit of Christmas back into my life. Trust me, he is out there.

    Yup, I believe you are right. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

