To Bee or Not to Bee

June 5, 2008 at 8:52 pm 3 comments

     The National Spelling Bee was re-run tonight on ESPN. First, I think it’s really, really cool that the powers that be (no pun intended) of ESPN have chosen to air the spelling bee. Even cooler, however, is that C was captivated. Completely. It’s the first time I’ve seen him watch something with that much interest since he discovered Dora the Explorer. I think it might be the first time the three of us have watched something together we all enjoyed.

     What’s interesting to me, however, is that C’s spelling ability has diminished since starting school. He is still a good speller for his age, probably an excellent one, but he’s forgotten numerous words he used to spell without batting an eye. Cartographer, incredible, vacuum. I’m not sure if he’s forgotten how to spell the words or if he’s just forgotten the words themselves. Given that his favorite book used to be a toss up between the phone book and the dictionary, perhaps he’s just moved on to other things.

    Regardless, tonight’s interest has reminded me of my long ago search for a Spanish-English dictionary written for young people (back in the Dora days, when he was soaking up Spanish words like a sponge). Now he’d probably prefer a Chinese-English dictionary as his new favorite show Ni Hao, Kai-Lan (Hello, Kai-Lan) features a Dora-ish Chinese girl. Either way, since his new goal is to be the National Spelling Bee Champion, we’d better get cracking.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

“I had a very bad day,” Weekend Warrior Link

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Good Fountain  |  June 6, 2008 at 5:49 am

    Wouldn’t surprise me at all if the Spelling Bee winners were all a bunch of Hyperlexics. 😉

    Go C!!

    We watched it when it was Live on ABC and it was pretty entertaining. I should have recorded it for Chee. She would have probably liked it. Never even thought of it.

    I think Husband was just flipping through the channels, quite honestly, and there it was. I figured there would be too much waiting for C to enjoy it, but he just loved it. And of course, I was diagnosing most of those kids, like I usually do. I figured there were at least a couple of spectrum kids in there…!

    Reply
  • 2. Jesch  |  June 6, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Now that I could see happening… 🙂

    Me too, me too….

    Reply
  • 3. T$  |  June 6, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I’d be somewhat surprised if it didn’t. frankly i think it would be right up his alley to just memorize the entire dictionary. different than spelling, but that’s what a spell check is for right?

    One of those kids had read the dictionary 7 times cover to cover. It’s definitely on my shopping list once again! Frankly, I’m not sure spell check would recognize half the words they used in the bee. lol!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

