When all else fails

May 27, 2008 at 8:54 pm 4 comments

     After a particularly distressing evening with C, one where I am striving to keep my patience and calm (and not particularly succeeding), I always enjoy going into his room for the last look after he falls asleep.

     In sleep, he brings me back from frustration to calm. His angelic little face resting on his pillow, blanket and stuffed dog Bill wrapped up in his arms do wonders to make me forget the rest of the evening. No trace of his screaming, defiance and tears are left. I cease to wonder how we’ll get through this latest behavior challenge and gently brush my lips across his cheek. And smile.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Oh, the NOISE! How did I get here?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jesch  |  May 28, 2008 at 5:36 am

    yup, I think that would do it…

    Seriously, at the risk of sounding like one of those annoying parents whose every moment is fabulous, there is nothing more adorable than a peacefully sleeping child.

    Reply
  • 2. goodfountain  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Amen. And understood.

    Reply
  • 3. Angie  |  May 28, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I need to email you bc I feel like I’m “communicating” with you via this blog but AMEN to the evening look-over. It makes everything worthwhile:)

    My fault. See your inbox!

    Reply
  • 4. FXSmom  |  May 28, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    ahhhh 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

