Continuity

May 19, 2008 at 10:00 am 2 comments

     Every once in awhile, along comes a moment that reminds me how I have adjusted my way of thinking to fit with C’s, and it stops me in my tracks for a moment. A few weeks ago I was at C’s school putting some fliers in teacher’s boxes, and I happened to hear the morning announcements that day. The announcements include a mix of thoughts on building good character, the lunch menus, and which classes had perfect attendance the day before. When I picked him up that day, he was very excited to know I had heard the announcements that morning. We talked about it the whole way home while I tried to clear up his confusion about why, even though his entire class was there that morning, they hadn’t been announced as having perfect attendance by the principal. He still doesn’t believe me that she’s talking about perfect attendance the day before, so his confusion continues.

     At least a week later, driving home from school, in the middle of a conversation about what he did during P.E. class, he asked, “Did you hear the whole announcements?” Without hardly a pause, I said ‘Yes, I did, the whole thing.” And on we went with the conversation we were having prior to the question. At least he went on with it; I was busy thinking how amazing it was I no longer needed clarification for a question like that. I knew exactly what he was talking about.

     Then I started wondering if I should have asked him to clarify his question. Most people wouldn’t connect the question to a discussion had many, many days prior, and how problematic will that be for him later in life? Will others understand his snippets of conversations continued long after the conversations are over? Did I miss a teachable moment? I’m quite sure there was a connection to the conversation we were having about P.E. class, I’m just not sure what it was. But knowing C like I do, I can say without doubt there was some sort of segue for him.

     We’ve always been thrilled when he makes connections between things – the most memorable was when he used to connect highway exit numbers with Presidents. “There’s exit 16,” he would say, “that’s Lincoln’s number.” Making connections between things is part of routine conversation and living in the world. C’s connections have always been a bit off the beaten path, but it’s something to celebrate nonetheless. Who knows what his connection was to the conversation long before, but to him I’m sure it was perfectly sensible.

    

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Just like heaven… The trouble with technology

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hfamom  |  May 20, 2008 at 8:34 am

    J does that. We call it quantum leaping and keeping up with it is a skill! Congratulations on mastering it!! 🙂 I don’t think it’s an autism thing– my ADD husband does it too…

    By the way– LOVE THE NEW PHOTO! C is adorable as always!!

    “Quantum leaps!” PERFECT! It cracks me up most of the time because it seems so random, but it’s not. I like that pic too – it was a trip to the grocery store to pick out new foods to try – whenever he touches anything to his face it’s a victory!

    Reply
  • 2. looksgoodinpolkadots  |  May 20, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Heck… I do the same “Quantum Leaps”… at least I can keep up with me, who knows if everyone else can. Perhaps one day people will just associate his random thoughts as a sign of his superior intelligence.

    That’s the plan, polka dots, that’s the plan! I’m keeping my fingers crossed – I LOVE his connections – they’re so interesting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

