Just like heaven…

May 16, 2008 at 11:09 am 3 comments

     I’m really not trying to be political here, because it’s not what I do, but C is intensely interested in the election all of a sudden. It has renewed his prior interest in heaven, and has now merged with his interest in Presidents. This morning’s conversation went something like this:

“Mommy, is that Barack Mogana on the tv?”

“Yes, C, it is Barack Obama.”

“Is he our new President? Did George Bush pick him?”

“No, the outgoing President doesn’t get to pick the new President. Barack Obama (probably) and John McCain will have to run against each other and the voters will decide who is the next President.”

“I hope Barack OBAMA will be the next President. I think he would make a very good President. I hope I’m President someday and that people would vote for me.”

“I think you’d make a great President, C. I’d definitely vote for you, and I think lots of people would.”

“Yeah. Mommy, when I’m in heaven will I meet the Presidents?”

“Sure you will, and you can ask them lots of questions!”

[Grins] “COOL! I didn’t know that. How did you know that? Did you learn it in school?”

      Granted, it is the last week of school, but somehow I doubt C’s teacher has a lesson on heaven, the Presidents and the election planned.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Barack who??? Continuity

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lastcrazyhorn  |  May 20, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Almost Heaven,
    West Virginia, Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River
    Life is old there,
    Older than the trees
    Younger than the mountains,
    Growin’ like a breeze

    Country roads,
    Take me home,
    To the place I belong
    West Virginia Mountain Mama,
    Take me home
    Country roads

    Okay, friend, you are FAR too clever for me (truly)….I’m sitting here wondering if this is a reference to the West Virginia primary, to southern values, to heaven in general, or something else altogether!!! LOL! Perhaps all of the above!! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. hfamom  |  May 20, 2008 at 7:50 am

    C is the coolest! I love the connections and the excitement! (And, I think he’s right about Obama!)

    He is starting to get jazzed about the elections. Probably more about the President flash cards, but hey, that’s okay!

    Reply
  • 3. lastcrazyhorn  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Well, you said, “Just like heaven . . . ”

    *grins*

    Yes, I certainly did! Thanks – now I’ll be singing that song all day. I am, however, from Colorado, so I guess there are worse things than singing John Denver songs. I’ll have to dig around and find the cd – YES, I do have it, I admit it! LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,077 hits

