You want to take this one, Daddy?

May 7, 2008 at 6:23 am 2 comments

     “Mommy, what does `under sunny skies’ mean?” C asked this morning as he was watching the weather channel, his favorite. Knowing his adherence to the literal, I responded that we are under the sky and the sky is sunny; therefore, we are under a sunny sky today. I’m not sure he really understood, and I consider that my malfunction as opposed to his.

     I’ve struggled to answer these types of questions for years. For a child whose educational goals continually target his inability to effectively answer “wh” questions, he sure asks a lot of them. Starting with “What is justice?” when he was 4 and reading the words on coins, I have answered these questions to the best of my ability, yet I somehow can’t help but think C is vaguely dissatisfied with my answers. Even worse, when I answer, “They just did it that way” (my version of many mothers’ “Because I said so”), I feel like I’m failing him. I’m really not sure why the back windshield wipers on the subaru outback impreza go one way while the ones on a volvo cross country go the other. I could call and find out, probably, but I’d spend two lifetimes searching for the answers to his constant questions about things that seem to have no particularly obvious answer. 

     I feel tremendous responsibility to answer these questions for him, probably much like other parents feel having the loaded, dreaded sex discussion with their children.  Yet I’m pretty sure when that conversation comes along, it will seem completely anti-climatic (no pun intended) after all this.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

What you don’t know Another few moments in time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lastcrazyhorn  |  May 9, 2008 at 10:34 am

    *snorts*

    Somehow I figured out the sex thing on my own. My parents never had the talk with me.

    However, my mother eventually did have to explain to me what the F-word was . . .

    I think most parents live in dread of having that talk. Me, I’m not terribly worried about it. However, when C only had a couple of words, one of them was “fork.” But it came out sounding like something else. He probably had about 5 words, and he liked to repeat them A LOT. So I’d be wandering around the grocery store with a child yelling “F*&K, F*&K, F*&K!” Interestingly, when “frog” came along it had the same pronunciation. Boy, did I explain THAT to many, many a folk giving me the evil eye.

    Reply
  • 2. lastcrazyhorn  |  May 10, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    *snorts* I read that as “many a fork giving me the evil eye.”

    HAH HAH HAH HAH! That’s pretty funny. Thanks for the giggle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

