Which came first?

April 28, 2008 at 11:55 pm 2 comments

     Sometimes I wonder if some of C’s quirks were simply reinforced by us or created by us. I remember when he was a baby and we hit a rough patch for sleeping, I turned to a book by Dr. Ferber that is either loved or hated depending on whether you are a control freak or a free spirit. Ferber advocates strict schedules and rules for helping your child sleep. We tried it, it worked, and our child is a truly great sleeper these days. It was hard, however, and I remember one middle of the night discussion with Husband that resulted in his calling me a “Ferber Nazi.” Not one of our better moments.

     When we switched C from a crib to a toddler bed, however, I sat down with him and told him not to leave his bed unless Mommy or Daddy came to get him. Silly us, we were worried he would wander out the door in the middle of the night. Yet I forgot his black and white world, and consequently he NEVER left that bed until we came to get him. He would sit in there, happily playing, waiting for us to wake in the morning. He did not toddle into our room in the middle of the night. For that reason I still use a baby monitor because he will stay in his bed suffering rather than come get us. You can guess how well I sleep.

     Now, C is a bit of a disaster if we veer off course from his schedule. When I venture to the grocery store at night, I marvel at the families out and about, living life and doing things. We are at home and in bed at night. Our lives revolve around bedtime. Just one Friday night up an hour or two past bedtime and there are repercussions for a week. Ferber created nightmare or a child who likes his routine? Hard to say, but sleep is a biggie in our house. I just wish I could get some.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Wired Friends in new places

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jesch30  |  April 29, 2008 at 5:01 am

    That explains the monitor!
    I didn’t know why.
    Geez, I learn so much here.

    Really? You mean all this time you thought I was just being completely anal??? That’s pretty funny, really!

    Reply
  • 2. Good Fountain  |  April 29, 2008 at 7:18 am

    LOL about the monitor. Chee is far too loud for us to need a monitor.

    I could write thousands of words about sleep on our house. But I won’t because right now we’re in a not-too-bad spot and I don’t want the deities to notice.

    That is SO funny, because I am the same way about calling attention to myself and the gods! Totally superstitious about that kind of thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,378 hits

