If you can’t stand the heat…

April 24, 2008 at 10:23 am 4 comments

     Whenever we visit a new doctor, I am inevitably asked if I have a medical background because I throw around terms like “pneumothorax,” “sepsis,” and “hypotonia” with reckless abandon. Aside from the initials people (see Awalkabout’s “Alphabet Soup“), there’s a whole slew of other words and terms we parents are required to learn simply to participate in an intelligent, informed discussion with a doctor or at an IEP (Individual Education Plan) meeting. My entire knowledge base and language have changed since having C seven years ago. I’ve learned about needle gauges, what a swallow study is, all about methylation pathways and how they work (or don’t), what to do about ankle pronation, what epi-pen is for and how to administer it, and what supplements to give when, how, and with what other supplements. It’s no wonder my brain feels full, as I think I’ve earned a Ph.D. and an M.D. in “the study of C.” 

     So when that inevitable question about my medical background (or lack therof) comes up, I simply say it’s been “trial by fire.”

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

I’m a green tree Wired

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lookingforlifeshumor  |  April 24, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I loved Awalkabout’s “Alphabet Soup”. I also recently posted on the use of acronyms in signatures and one creative Mom’s acronym (JACK) so she could include her NT kid… Crazy the stuff you learn with Autism.

    That JACK post was funny…I should’ve linked it! Once I figured out how to link AWalkabout’s post (that only took about and hour….really), I could link to the whole world!!! LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. awalkabout  |  April 25, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Ooo! I’m being quoted! *giggles* Pretty soon people will be asking for my autograph as the famous inventor of the Alphabet People!

    Actually it wouldn’t be a bad idea to put that together in book form–publish it as a helping guide for parents of newly diagnosed kids, of any special need. You know, a chapter for autism, a chapter for cystic fibrosis, etc. You want to write something, Darci–sounds like a perfect project! I’ll help! 🙂

    babs

    Yup, you’re famous! At least to the assortment of people that visit me. LOL! 😉 And you are right, that WOULD be a really, really good idea….wonder if we could get some funding somewhere to put that together. It’s the kind of project I like to do – organizational stuff is my thing. Hmm….am going to give this some thought.

    Reply
  • 3. Good Fountain  |  April 25, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Interesting!! I hope your days of learning new acronyms are o.v.e.r. 😀

    LOL – we can only hope, right?

    Oh, come on! Don’t you think the minute we grasp it all it will all change??? I’ve almost given up on keeping up! LOL!

    Reply
  • 4. Carol Ricker-Bailey  |  April 25, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    There is no doubt you as well as other “trial by fire” Mothers can communicate with an amazingly wide range of people, cultures, and professions. Seemingly tragic events add a new dimension to the availability of resouces that so may people need as well as a shoulder to rest upon. Funny thing, Ii was active in the medical profession, and had a mental medical dictionary in my head untill I had my son ( 10 years age). For some people, including me, everything II though new went out the window andstarting new I learned a new language. At first it seems like mothering an aspie reduced me to short, clean simple talk now I find it impossible to keep up with the language skills of some children , especially my son .

    They are amazing little guys, aren’t they? I’m astounded by the way he thinks and what he thinks. I just LOVE it, even if I don’t always get it. I just so enjoy his different views of the world he lives in. But yes, everything I knew (or thought I knew) went right out the window and it’s definitely a whole new language and experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

