I like K5

April 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm 2 comments

     We have a 60s era juke box that is full of 70s era tunes. They’re all on 45s, so it is complete with the requisite authentic record sound. Husband already had it when we married, and he had it full of Rolling Stones, Eagles, and Alice Cooper songs. In ten years, he’s let me add two records of my own; the Bee Gees and The Gap Band. Now you know our musical tastes and now you know where I stand.

     But C loves them all. He knows all the letter-number combinations; he knows that K5 (“You Dropped a Bomb on Me”) is my favorite, and A4 (“Can’t Always Get What You Want”) is Daddy’s. C’s favorites at the moment are D0 (“My Girl”), F7 (“Moonshadow”), and J3 (“Stop! In the Name of Love”). Lots of women have been “his” girl, and I try not to take it personally when he plays the song for various therapists and babysitters, pointing at them when the lyrics hit “my girl, my girl, talking ’bout MY girl, MY GIRL!”

     Long before he could sing along with “Hey, Hey, We’re the Monkees,” he would move his head back and forth – a la Stevie Wonder – as we listened to the song at dinner. Probably not conducive to digestion, but he sure loved that song. His musical tastes run the gamut from AC/DC’s “Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution” to classical piano. Some of his favorite songs are of great concern; I wait for the day when he serenades his principal with “Brick House” and I get a phone call.

     There’s two Christmas songs on the juke box, sung by Johnny Mathis. A few years ago, while waiting in the endless holiday mailing lines in the post office, a Johnny Mathis song came on the radio. “Mommy, is that Johnny Mathis?” The blue haired laides near us were enchanted, of course, that any child would recognize Johnny Mathis. I didn’t elaborate, and simply let them bask in their delight of him.

    

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

We are the champions My lucy day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lookingforlifeshumor  |  April 16, 2008 at 12:26 am

    cute 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 16, 2008 at 3:43 am

    Speaking of which, you should check out this blog entry my brother put up about my nephew . . . http://hobbsblog.8m.com/2008/03/bouncing.html

    When my nephew was in the NICU (he was a micropreemie), my brother and my sister-in-law would sing Johnny Cash songs to him. He really dug those low tones.

    They say that aspies may have a stronger preference towards songs that have either a strong rhythmic beat or are polyrhythmic . . .

    Well, that would certainly explain the love of AC/DC! I hadn’t thought of Johnny Cash. I’ll have to dig that out and see if he likes it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,382 hits

