C-isms, part III

April 10, 2008 at 11:54 am 11 comments

Mommy, what’s the last number before 246 counting by 3s starting at 4?

(As a police car races up our street, sirens blaring)  ARE THEY COMING FOR DADDY??? He was going 30 in a 25 this morning!

Mommy, I’m pretending I’m your age right now.  Why?   So I can take my Thomas engines on a field trip.  Why do you have to be my age to do that?  Because I think that’s what age you have to be to drive a bus. 

Did you know that there’s rocket trains??? (Sighs)  But they don’t blast off into space.

(As we’re shopping for Daddy’s b.day card and he’s looking at all the card categories)  Mommy, is Daddy our husband?

I was nice to B at school today. I’m always nice to B. Except on the 124th day of school when I was wearing a blue shirt.

Mommy, you should be President because you’re over 35 and you knowed enough.

(As the sun broke through the clouds today)  I’m so glad the overcast is over.

I did something wrong today. I wrote too big. My writing size was 72.  (For the unitiated, that would be font size he’s talking about, and probably he’s spot on in his estimation.)

Why wasn’t Chuck E. Cheese invented when you were a kid, Mommy? When was it made? Because it isn’t in my inventions book.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

Fool me once, but not twice One step ahead

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LoisR  |  April 10, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I love the drawing on the back of my card and noted all the program titles C included…amazed me, as usual!

    He was so earnest working on that. And he LOVES that inventions book. You’re good!

    Reply
  • 2. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 10, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Why does that sound so familiar . . .

    Because C is your long lost twin??? 😉

    Reply
  • 3. jesch30  |  April 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    ARE THEY COMING FOR DADDY????
    That is priceless.

    It was pretty darn funny. He was so excited and worried at the same time.

    Reply
  • 4. goodfountain  |  April 11, 2008 at 12:45 am

    I love his isms! It’s great that you are capturing them for the future. He’ll love reading about his cute sayings when he’s an adult.

    Reading this gives me such inspiration and hope for what is to come with my Chee when she gets older.

    As I said to AWALKABOUT, we waited a LONG time for this to come. We didn’t know if this kind of language would ever come. And while it’s still not always functional or relevant to the topic at hand (in his mind it is, though), it’s wonderful. I too hope he enjoys reading this stuff when he’s older.

    Reply
  • 5. awalkabout  |  April 11, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I’m so JEALOUS that he talks like that. *sigh* I don’t think Little Miss will ever get there.

    I know how frustrating that wait can be. C was just one of those kids for whom some medical interventions made a huge difference. Between treating reflux, adding probiotics and doing b-12 shots, his whole world changed. Almost overnight. I think for him, he was in a lot of pain, and when that pain settled down, his brain was freed up.

    It is so difficult when that verbal communication piece isn’t fully there. I think that’s probably the hardest part of it. My heart goes out to you, friend.

    Reply
  • 6. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 11, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Boy, my twin sure is young. I wonder if he knows.

    HAH HAH HAH HAH HAH! He’s pretty cute too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. FXSmom  |  April 11, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    lol…lastcrazyhorn

    Reply
  • 8. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 12, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    🙂

    As for the 246 question . . . now my math hasn’t been my strong point since I was in 6th grade (and once more as a freshman in college, when I took finite mathematics), but I think I know how to answer that one.

    246 – 4 = 242/3 = Well that doesn’t equal something even, so let’s go back to the point where it would be equal. 240 IS divisible by 3, thus that’s the number that it would be.

    MY BRAIN IS FULL!!! LOL!!!

    Reply
  • 9. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 12, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Unless of course, the fact that you start on 4 means that the question should be 246 – 3 = 243. in which case, the answer would still be the same.

    Reply
  • 10. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 12, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    And Chuck E. Cheese – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chuck_E._Cheese's

    I don’t normally refer to wikipedia, but I think if anyone would know, it would be that crowd.

    Yup, that’s pretty much more than anyone would ever want to know about Chuck E. Cheese. I think I’ll bookmark it for C, although he’ll argue that I WAS a kid when it was invented, to which I’ll have to reply that it wasn’t in MY town, to which he’ll reply something to the effect of “Then why did you live there?”

    Interestingly, neither one of us can nor wants to eat any of the food there. It’s all about skeeball!

    Reply
  • 11. mommy~dearest  |  April 13, 2008 at 6:28 am

    ONG, this post had me laughing SO hard! Just what I needed tonight. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Ditto to you – I expect I’ll be hanging out at your place quite a bit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,223 hits

