On my birthday

April 8, 2008 at 12:26 am 3 comments

     I’m taking this opportunity, on my 39th birthday, to take a day off. On that note, I thought it appropriate to repost my original entry into this world of blogging. I revisit it often, because it’s the beginning of a book I’ve been writing. Blogging was my way of forcing myself to continue along that path. It’s become oh, so much more, but ultimately, at its core, this blog is about what’s written below.

     I used to say “God never gives you more than you can handle.” And, in the way that people we spend only the briefest about of time with can sometimes do, an acquaintance profoundly changed my mindset. I was talking with a woman one day who responded to my sentiment about what God gives us by saying, “No, God gives us what we need.”  

     What a powerful statement. I still haven’t figured out how that statement applies to me exactly, but I’m on the watch (and receive clues) for it daily.

 

      My husband and I have a 6 year old with high functioning autism. He is an extraordinary child to say the least. Parenting him has been nothing like I thought parenting would be – in happy ways and in challenging ones as well. 

    

 Welcome to our journey.

 

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

Does anyone need a sign inspector? Fool me once, but not twice

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  April 9, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Happy Birthday!
    If I was there we’d go find the nearest TCBY and then drive around with the top down checking out hot construction workers:)

    Dang, if I could only FIND a TCBY around here. I haven’t seen one in ages. I had actually forgotten about the dudes and remembered more the suburbans that were just coming out and always seemed to be parked at the TCBY. But the dudes are for more fun to think about (sorry, dear Husband!)!!!

    MMMM….white chocolate mousse….I always thought you ruined yours by putting fruit on it. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Casdok  |  April 10, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Belated Happy Birthday!
    Yes ive heard that one before, we are given what we need. I havent figured it out yet either!

    I suppose if I figured it out, I’d know the meaning of life, and that would be boring, right? 😉

    Reply
  • 3. lastcrazyhorn  |  April 18, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I think God gives us the tools to be able to work effectively with other people. So if that includes going through shit so that we can better empathize with someone else . . . then that includes going through shit. I think Satan and God both put us through crap; the difference is that God puts us through crap for a reason and Satan does not.

    There are certain people in the world who can only be helped by one or two other people ever–and with our unique experiences with the spectrum and the discrimination thereof, we might just be those people.

    Happy belated birthday. Mine was the 6th of April, but perhaps you knew that?

    Well, I have always said that some of these kids will grow up to be the most empathetic, kind people in the world because of what they experience as children. I so hope that’s true, because at the moment, C is so dang sweet, and I’d hate to see that drilled right out of him. And I do like your thoughts on God vs. Satan giving us the crap and why God’s crap is better.

    Yup, I remember you were the 6th, and Babs the 1st, Husband was the 12th, C was M. 28th. Just a bunch of Aries folk!. I sometimes wonder if that’s why our house is so entertaining – all 3 of us Aries crammed under one roof. Hmmm…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

The Best

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,378 hits

