It’s a Dennis day

March 27, 2008 at 11:23 am 5 comments

    We have different days at our house. Today was a Dennis (a.k.a. “The Menace”) day. It’s a day when I count the hours until C’s bedtime hoping we can all survive relatively unscathed. C is wound up, sassy, hyper and completely “wiggy.” My Nana would have said he had the devil in him today. I never know what triggers these days, and fortunately they come fewer and farther between as of late. We have various solutions to Dennis days; at the moment C is in a shower, happily contained, putting sticky letters on the shower walls and hopefully being soothed by the warm water. Nevermind we live in the desert where water is scarce. Some days our environmentalism simply goes down the drain, no pun intended.

     There’s also my favorite type of day, the “Calvin” day. An enormous fan of the now defunct comic strip “Calvin and Hobbes,” I have long adored the trademark triangle smile of Calvin that truly does appear in my C. I think Calvin was somewhat reincarnated when I gave birth. On these days, C is mischievous and adorable, doing such things that make me laugh even though I probably shouldn’t.

     Last is a Rainman day. Punctuated by questions such as, “Mommy, what is negative 200 minus negative 200?” (Um, I dunno…???), Rainman days are by far the most interesting. I catch surprising glimpses of how his brain works and things he’s learned I had no idea he knew. Lists of planets, great big fancy words such as “cartographer” or “communication,” and other random assortments of facts and figures leave me wondering if he really is a species of sponge. 

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , , .

This morning’s conversation Happy Birthday!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. T$  |  March 27, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    yes, he was in rare form on the phone last night. while it was humorous on our end, i can see where he would be a handful on those days.

    It was a looooooooong evening. Tag team parenting – one of us deals with it until we can’t anymore and then the other steps in. Not a great night, but by the time he got off the phone with you we only had a couple more hours to go!

    Reply
  • 2. FXSmom  |  March 27, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    that is hilarious that you can classify him like that

    It is amazing – although I realized last night it had been a long time since we’d had a bad Dennis day, so it kind of made me happy. Perhaps some maturing and/or getting all the crud that’s in his system OUT is really starting to help.

    Reply
  • 3. lastcrazyhorn  |  March 30, 2008 at 7:45 am

    -400 if memory serves right.

    As for the wiggy days . . . where he wigs . . . I have those myself. Proprioceptive stimulation. That’s the only thing that helps me. Swimming, hauling, straining of some form (pulling oneself up a rope by only your arms, anyone?), headbanging to loud music while jumping, screaming (if you really want to put up with that), playing really intense music (you might discover that finding a music therapist could really help with this–I really like banging on drums when I get like this in a guided exercise), stair climbing, running uphill, trying to move while someone sits on you, swinging, weighted garments, pushing against a wall, roller coasters, those merry go rounds you find in playgrounds sometimes, fast driving, watching explosions . . . lol . . . anything other than short movements/sitting in one place.

    I’ve been holding off on the drum set…but know it would be good. We just started music therapy recently and he LOVES it. It’s always been so hard to find the calming things that work for him as they are usually not the ones occupational therapists and others have recommended, and they change so frequently. Lately it’s been warm water and smushing in pillows, which we’d tried before with no help – now it’s helping, though. It reminds me, however, of the song “Gettin’ Jiggy With It” from Will Smith – I just substitute “wiggy” in my head. But I always know something is going on that day for him.

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  April 4, 2008 at 12:43 am

    This sounds so much like my Kenzie… on the “Dennis” kind of days… I feel like opening a big bottle of wine and sticking a straw inside. 🙂 It’s all these days… that we remember and that shape our little ones. Our reaction to them will provide them with emotionally stability to survive life later!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

    Now there’s an idea – wine through a straw. I think I’ll have to try that sometime! Never a dull moment, as you clearly know.

    Reply
  • 5. It’s true love « What We Need  |  October 21, 2008 at 5:56 am

    […] October 21, 2008      I never liked the movie Rainman, even before having C. Husband always did, and his uncanny imitation of Raymond saying, “Got to go to K-Mart,” freaked me out long before we had a child who said things just like that. Since having C, I’ve become aware of the controversy of the movie for its stereotypical display of a person with autism. There are days, however, when C is more similar to the character than not (see my post about “Dennis Days” here). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,382 hits

