The oldest profession

February 27, 2008 at 3:04 pm 2 comments

     A recent homework assignment asked C to draw a picture of someone important in our community and write about their job. “What’s a community?” he asked. I explained about our little town, and what keeps it running. Police officers, firefighters, doctors, the mayor, his principal at school.

     He sat down to write, earnestly holding his pencil in hand. Brows furrowed, he bent over and wrote, “Mommy’s job is being a Mom. She takes care of me.” He then studied my face for a moment and drew his best picture of me, including his first attempt at eyebrows.

     I know he doesn’t recognize my struggle with my sense of self these days. But at his deepest core, he recognizes the value of what I do for him. After all, he puts me up on that pedestal where police officers and firefighters live. What more thanks could I get?

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , , .

C-isms It’s broke, so how do I fix it?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jesch30  |  February 27, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I love your blog.

    I think you just love my kid. 😉

    Reply
  • 2. FXSmom  |  February 28, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Ahhh…that had to make you feel really good. 🙂

    Yup, that homework will be framed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,382 hits

