C-isms

February 26, 2008 at 4:04 am 9 comments

Mommy, can we go to the Liberty of Statue?

If you get really sick, do you have to go to the hopsickle?

 Are you putting that in the garbage despoil?

When I grow up, will you go up to Heaven with me to pick out my babies?

Mommy, you’re my favorite person in our fam-i-ly. Daddy, are you going to cry?

Did you know there’s sheila-monsters (gila monsters) in the desert?

At lunch today they had beef patty on bun.

….(on the way into the bathroom)…then we had rocket math and I got 37 problems right. WOW! THAT’S THE BIGGEST POOP I EVER SEEN!

When I grow up and go to work, will you drive me? Because I don’t know how to get there.

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , .

More on acceptance, or is it denial? The oldest profession

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. T$  |  February 26, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    you could devote a whole blog to this topic.

    I know – I realized I should be writing these things down, so now I will!

    Reply
  • 2. awalkabout  |  February 26, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    He’s so verbal! Little Miss is almost 9 and she doesn’t speak nearly that well. 😦 On the other hand, Capt. Oblivious hardly ever shuts up. I guess it evens out. :X

    He IS very verbal. It used to be all echolalia and scripted stuff until we treated some silent GI problems, and BOOM. Now it’s constant and spontaneous! But his OT still says his language isn’t very “functional.” It’s all fact based type of stuff. But I see some emotional stuff peeking through now and then. You’re getting cross-training with your kids – more verbal and less so. Never a dull moment in your house, I’m sure!

    Reply
  • 3. lookingforlifeshumor  |  February 26, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Cute cute cute!

    Reply
  • 4. jesch30  |  February 26, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    What? Nothing about Galaga 88…

    I had one in there at first – kind of the message he left you guys the other night with his first name, last name. But I realized it didn’t make sense to the rest of the folk who would read it. But I was cracking up listening to him leave that message. But you’re right – I should do something about Galaga 88, but it would take up so much space because he talks about it SO MUCH!

    Reply
  • 5. Judy Dechent  |  September 4, 2008 at 11:00 am

    My daughter and I babysit for a 30 month old little boy who was 2 months premature. He is normal size has a great vocabulary but I see echolalia a great deal. I’ve been trying to do some research and found your “blog”. Sometimes he answers questions when asked but most of the time just repeats things. I want to point it out to “mom” but in a careful way. She and her husband are career people and my daughter and I spend a great deal of time with him. I call him my surrogate grandson, love him to death. Should the echolalia be ceasing at this point or because of his prematurity will it continue?

    Reply
  • 6. Louise Bostock  |  October 31, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Wonderful! What a gem.

    Reply
  • 7. Judith  |  March 26, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Doesn’t every family have a head full of isms? Ours are called Andrewisms.

    Perhaps, someone should write a little book full of them. These obsrvations and language uses are priceless.

    They are priceless. I’m so glad to have them written down now so I’ll never forget them.

    Reply
  • 8. Nancy  |  September 1, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I came across your blog when I was browsing. Your son’s comments remind me of my nephew (now 20, with autism). He writes comics as a writing assignment for my tutoring with him. Maybe C would enjoy some of them. Matt played the Tin Man in his class play this past Spring, so his comics are take-offs on that. He also makes up some interesting words at times! I hope C has a school year that goes better than this one started out.

    Reply
  • 9. Nancy Barth  |  January 11, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Love the things kids say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,220 hits

