Snowflakes everywhere!

February 19, 2008 at 2:17 am 1 comment

     We have lived in many places since C was born, and in each place I have been fortunate to find other families with kids on the spectrum. Of course, that’s easy these days, but what amazes me still is the vast differences in these children. Obviously every child is different, but I find it astounding that two children with the same diagnosis can face such divergent challenges. I think that’s part of what makes it difficult for the parents of these children to find common ground sometimes, and even further, why it is difficult to find a cause and cure. Some things work miracles for some kids while the same treatment may not have any effect on another child. Yet we as parents can and should offer each other support and understanding.  

     I’ve seen critiques of celebrity parents who are just doing what we’re all doing – trying to help their kids in the best way they can. I’d like to cut some of them a break from the rampant criticism that rages across the web, because if nothing else, they are struggling with many of the same issues the rest of us are. In my mind, that brings up much empathy, and if they can help bring some more attention to autism in general, I think it’s wonderful.

     There is so much debate within the autism community about causes, treatments, and vaccines, that I often marvel at the infighting within our own ranks. It reminds me of what’s going on in politics right now, and it saddens me so. With all the criticism, fighting, and barbs flying around, we’ve lost sight of what’s truly important. We all need to remember that it’s always about the children. First and foremost, it’s about them and what they need.

    

Entry filed under: autism. Tags: , , , , .

Is there something in the water? Friends in all places

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hfamom  |  February 19, 2008 at 2:48 am

    Amen! The Mercury vs. Environment vs. Genetic… and, those who insist on calling non-autistic people Neuro-typicals… what the…?!

    I think a lot of us are trying to avoid the guilt and/or self blame by claiming a cause that releases us from culpability… Also, we have these perfect looking– “normal” looking children and we just can’t bring ourselves to admit that our children have a disability… The semantics get us in trouble and, I think take our focus away from what we really need to be doing– helping our children to be functioning, self-sufficient, contributing members of society as adults.

    There’s my five cents…

    I agree – it becomes a war about semantics instead of a war on the disorder and helping the kids function well. I do think, however, that we will eventually settle on a set of genes responsible, a list of triggers, and some possible helps (I try not to say “cure!”). I for one see a HUGE difference with GF/CF (probably because my child has my celiac gene), B-12 injections, prevacid and probiotics. But I also know that “cocktail” doesn’t work for the child up the street. THAT’s what makes it so difficult – there is no one intervention that works for all these kids, which was kind of my point to begin with – no cookie cutter approach is going to work because they are all so different.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all autism, all the time.

Parenting Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Blog Stats

  • 77,076 hits

